We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious frozen custard”

Ted Drewes Frozen Custard
Ranked #2 of 88 Dessert in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Ted Drewes is closed for the season and will re-open on February 11, 2016.... Could you please update this information on our Trip Advisor Page.... Thank you
FL
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delicious frozen custard”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We each got a "concrete" (which is kind of like a McFlurry or a Blizzard - although that's extremely insulting to Ted Drewes, I'm sure!). Word of warning, get a size smaller than you would normally order. It is delicious, but it is extremely sweet and filling. It is delicious, and a one of a kind place, I'm sure. Also, not very expensive! Worth the trip, and we didn't even have to wait in line when we went!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nfall2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,131
    362
    142
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just do it”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

If you're not charmed by a frozen custard joint on Historic Route 66, then something is wrong with you. It's an original, it's tasty, and it doesn't break the bank. It's a living example of America before corporate food and chain restaurants. Take your kids and show them how things used to be!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HowardMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A St. Louis legend”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Ted Drewes has the BEST - bar none - frozen custard. My cousin looks so forward to visiting Ted Drewes EVERY time she visits from CA that she stops on her way to and from Lambert Airport to their MO home - and we enjoy going a few times together while she is here. I had the pleasure to meet Ted & Dottie several years ago and I could see how they have created such a great reputation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank thepixie819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“a st louis tradition”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

there is nothing better than heading down to ted drewes for frozen custard. the custard is great but part of this experience is to be standing outside in line and running into friends.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A lot of choices”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were looking forward to ending our vacation at Ted Drewes. We had some confusion about how to order; micro, mini, regular, large... After we received our order we found that they mix in the flavor you want, we thought it would be hand scooped hard frozen custard. We ordered the Mint, a Christy and Mocha Heath. The Mint and the Christy were good, but the Mocha Heath tasted like vanilla with no Heath to be found. We'll go back but try other flavors.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheNarrowRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Drewes Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Ted Drewes Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing