We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Cajun Food in the Midwest”

Broadway Oyster Bar
Ranked #17 of 3,068 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Casual French Quarter style restaurant, bar and music venue specializing in award winning Cajun, Creole and Seafood cuisines. Live music 7 nights per week and twice on almost everyday except Friday. Some music is free and some requires a cover charge. Music style includes blues, rock, reggae, funk, New Orleans, R&B, soul, jam, outlaw country and whatever else we hear and like. Open till 3AM with full menu served till 10PM Sunday- Thursday and 11PM on Friday and Saturday and after Cardinal home night games. Late night food till 2 AM on Friday and Saturday night.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Passing through St. Louis, I decided to ask Siri where I can eat some oysters. Siri found this place four miles from Barns-Jewish Hospital. Don’t let the outside of the building scare you away……go inside! The interior is very rustic as you can feel the southern bayou ambience. Mary the server knows her menu and the market prices for fresh oysters on the half shell. Mary recommended the crawfish enchiladas with jambalaya and the lobster po’boy with cajun fries. We also ordered some Blue Point oysters on the half shell. The oysters were sweet and the lunch entries were delicious. This place has gourmet Cajun food that is delicious! The next time I am in St. Louis, The Broadway Oyster Bar will be a must stop here eating experience again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank danh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thanks for the great review. You would be shocked at the number of people who live in Springfield who come to BOB on a regular basis. Springfield residents are very cool, knowledgeable and get what BOB is all about and we luv ya for it! Thanks again and we hope to see you on a regular basis along with all the other Springfield residents. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

987 - 991 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

Laid back atmosphere. Have eaten inside and outside. Live entertainment outside, food, beer! Everything I had was wonderful- BUT the alligator cheesecake is AMAZING! I go just for that!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alitton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We love you too! Thanks for the great review and we look forward to your many return visits. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great pre-game, pre-concert meal! This was our 2nd trip and we will be back!

Highly suggest calling ahead for preferred seating. It can take a significant time off your wait time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vtxriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thanks for the kind words and very glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We will have the chargrilled oysters and Horny Gators waiting for you on your return visit. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I recommend calling for "priority" seating. All I can say is the food is awesome! My dad is from Lousianna and loved it! Wish they were closer!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thanks for the great review. Glad you and your "Louisiana Dad" loved it. The only bad news is that we may never get much closer to you than we already are. You may have to move closer to us! We would love to see you again under any circumstances. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Best advice: If you go on a weekend, be prepared to stand and wait for over a well-worth-it hour! This place is insane on a Friday night. We went and were packed in like sardines. Luckily, we were able to belly up to the bar for a drink and it helped us to pass the time. Keep in mind, this is not your high luxury restaurant. It's extremely casual with a very diverse crowd and almost shack-like feel. Yet it all works. When you finally are seated and the food begins to arrive, you quickly realize that it was worth it. In all my years of life, I just knew I hated oysters. Yet when my daughter (a former picky eater) insisted that we start with the Oyster Medley, I ultimately gave in and agreed. Well, they were amazing! Two baked with a spinach and bacon cream sauce, two with a cajun crawfish cream sauce and the final two with shrimp, parmesan and mushroom sauce were delicious. Next we tried the crawfish fondue and I thought I had died and gone to heaven! By the time our main course arrived (which we split), bacon wrapped scallops, we were asking for to-go boxes. It was an interesting experience at the BOB. A little crazy, but a lot of great good for certain!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TJ7334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Crazy. Eclectic. Exceptional food. Interesting experience. I think I am going to really like this review! Thanks for all of the kind words and very happy you enjoyed the food and the experience. Your description of BOB is right on for a Friday or Saturday night. The rest of the week is a lot calmer and maybe better for those who like their experience a little more subdued. Thanks again. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broadway Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Broadway Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing