We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alligator sausage "cheesecake"?!”

Broadway Oyster Bar
Ranked #8 of 2,901 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Casual French Quarter style restaurant, bar and music venue specializing in award winning Cajun, Creole and Seafood cuisines. Live music 7 nights per week and twice on almost everyday except Friday. Some music is free and some requires a cover charge. Music style includes blues, rock, reggae, funk, New Orleans, R&B, soul, jam, outlaw country and whatever else we hear and like. Open till 3AM with full menu served till 10PM Sunday- Thursday and 11PM on Friday and Saturday and after Cardinal home night games. Late night food till 2 AM on Friday and Saturday night.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Alligator sausage "cheesecake"?!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Went there while on a business trip to St. Louis. The live music was fun! The fid was really good. Big portions! The highlight was the Alligator sausage "cheesecake"! A must try!!

Helpful?
Thank lkabernathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Glad you had a great time visiting us recently. The alligator sausage and shrimp cheesecake is a recipe we "borrowed" from a friend in New Orleans and tweaked slightly to make it our own. Happy you enjoyed it and thanks for the review. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    304
    47
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
164 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No Place Else Like It”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

How to describe this place. Almost impossible. An old building in downtown St. Louis, just a couple blocks south of Busch Stadium. A great blues and New Orleans groove music bar. Extraordinary cajun and N'Awlins dishes, from fresh oysters to gumbo to you name it. A great selection of beer, bottle and tap. A friendly, lively crowd. Indoor seating. Outdoor seating. Waitresses who smile, move fast, and make you feel comfortable. Broadway Oyster Bar is a St. Louis classic, a "you gotta see it and taste it" even if it's out of the way. Caution: Parking is difficult when the Cardinals are in town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Easyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
After your initial doubt in your ability to describe BOB, you sure proceeded to do a heck of a good job! We think your description is spot on and what we strive to be. We thank you sincerely for the great review and look forward to seeing you many times in the future. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good music, great food”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Was looking for late night grub, found this place online. Crab legs and oyster platter were excellent. Live blues music was great

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrx98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Very glad you found us and thanks for the terrific review. We serve the full menu till 11PM on Friday and Saturday night and a limited, late night menu till 2AM. The kitchen closes at 10PM the rest of the week but the bar is open till 3 AM except on Sunday night when we close at 1AM. Hope to see you again soon. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So popular you Can't get in the door”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

As soon as you open the door to go in, you are in line waiting for a table. There isn't even room to wait for a table, and some people don't even put their name in for a table and they just go in and rush to a table if they see someone leaving, by passing everyone who has put their name in and has been waiting. The food was really good, and the service was good too. It would be a good place to go with friends or a fun night out, but I would 't go there for a romantic night out with your sweetheart. More of a party atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aboatrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for the terrific review and very happy you enjoyed the food and service. We are lucky enough to be very busy on Friday and Saturday nights and before and after Cardinal baseball games. When we are hosting, we do occasionally have customers walk past the host in search of a table but we almost always catch them and put them in their proper spot on the wait list. We want to be fair to everyone. Thanks again for the feedback and yes, we are more of a party place. Actually, one of THE BEST party places! John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“On the way to a Cards game”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We met my brother and sister in law and sat on the patio. Love this place, great seafood dishes, cajun and burgers. Cold beverages and very casual atmosphere. Very friendly place, we go here several times in the summer and always before a game as you can park and walk to the stadium.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryljanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Ah, Cardinal baseball! Thanks for reminding me. Glad you have chosen us as your "go to" spot for Cardinal baseball. We'll be giving away baseball tickets and bottles of water before the games again this year so we hope to see you often. Thanks for the very kind words. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broadway Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Broadway Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing