We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cajun/Creole”

Broadway Oyster Bar
Ranked #8 of 2,907 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Casual French Quarter style restaurant, bar and music venue specializing in award winning Cajun, Creole and Seafood cuisines. Live music 7 nights per week and twice on almost everyday except Friday. Some music is free and some requires a cover charge. Music style includes blues, rock, reggae, funk, New Orleans, R&B, soul, jam, outlaw country and whatever else we hear and like. Open till 3AM with full menu served till 10PM Sunday- Thursday and 11PM on Friday and Saturday and after Cardinal home night games. Late night food till 2 AM on Friday and Saturday night.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Cajun/Creole”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is an old pub off Broadway I would call near Soulard. Technically, Soulard. But, wow! They serve up some great food!!! Crawfish, etc. Great gumbo. I want to try more. Kind of a dive with nice patio outside. But, go if you are in the area. St. Louis has many influences and will surprise you with some great food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Kind of a dive? No sir, we ARE a dive but a French Quarter kind of dive. Some of the best food I ever had comes from those joints in New Orleans that you think twice about going into but leave thanking God for encouraging you to give it a shot. Glad you gave us a shot and thanks for the great review. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    751
    309
    48
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food is fresh and great tasting. Definitely an oyster lovers place. I had the oyster poorboy and it was delicious. The bread was really amazing, as was the fried oysters in it. I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cya2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
"Good food" says it all. Thanks for the great review. We do take our oysters and PoBoys very seriously. We even have bread for the PoBoys shipped in from New Orleans to get that authentic NOLA PoBoy taste. Glad you enjoyed it. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unpretentious? Definitely. Superb? Absolutely!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I had a hankering for beer and oysters and although our hotel was close to another oyster place, we ventured here because of what we were told by others. We are New Yorkers and we were unfamiliar with the local brews available. Our waitress, rather than try to describe the local beers, brought us a sample of what she thought we would like. We ordered the beers and a dozen Blue Points for starters. We are not big on fried food and having looked at the menu online (dominated by fried foods) we set our sights low. For as unpretentious as this place pretends to be on the outside and on the menu, the specials are Michelin star meals! There were 3 fresh fish specials and between my wife and I, we shared 2 of them. Unfortunately, this was our one and only meal here (leaving the next day). I don't know if this is what this place puts out regularly for specials but GO GIVE THEM A TRY.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheOldDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We love it when customers such as yourself wander in, usually at the recommendation of friends, hotel staff or cab drivers, and we are able to surprise them with great food and a great experience. We look like a dive but we serve seafood specials like the ones you enjoyed everyday and night. The specials change daily based on what is fresh and available. Fresh oysters are also delivered everyday. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you again when you visit St. Louis. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomasville, mo
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had heard wonderful things about this place from friends, so we went on a Saturday afternoon and sat on the patio. We had a few drinks and an appetizer. The band was great and our server Megan M. was so nice. Our glasses never got empty and our bellies were full. lol

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for the great review and thanks to your friends for recommending us to you. The Saturday afternoon experience can be pretty cool on a nice day with the band playing, some good food and drinks and there is ALWAYS plenty of people watching here at BOB. So glad we were able to live up to your expectations. See you soon. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“B.O.B. - Wish we could have stayed in StL longer!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We came to the BOB on the recommendation of our friend, a local resident. We had only 3 'musts' on our StL list, and this was one of them. Our meal here was seriously and wonderfully delicious. So much so that with only 2 hours to go before our flight out, we nearly turned the wheels of our car in the BOB's direction, just for one more meal. But we figured we'd have to rush through it all, and that would have been disappointing to do. We made the flight. On time. Sigh.

We asked the front desk at the hotel for directions, and found it was only a few blocks away. As we had other commitments around town, we drove by it our first night, and came back for lunch the next day. There was a great crowd out that night, enjoying live entertainment. When we came back for a late lunch, the outdoor area was not as crowded. But sitting there you could just tell this was a great place to be - for food and atmosphere. Colorfully decorated, with a stage for the entertainment, and "customer provided artwork" displayed (and encouraged) everywhere. FUN!

Having perused a menu previously, we began with the CHARGRILLED OYSTERS & a dozen raw ones. We've found East Coast oysters to be on the salty side with West Coast oysters tasting sweeter. What we were served here (Gulf Coast oysters per our server) were the perfect blend of flavor. Chargrilled with garlic and cheeses, mmmm. If we never ate another meal in StL.... If we had to choose a last meal .... Yes, they are THAT good.

We also tried OYSTERS BIENVILLE, our server's recommendation. They are (heat) hot so take care eating them. Don't let them cool too much as the cheese on them will harden, but the underlying sauce is to die for, at any temperature. Just so we wouldn't be oyster snobs, we also tried a Shrimp dish with their VOODOO sauce, very good. We could have stayed there longer to try more things at this culinary heaven, but we had to be on our way. No problem, our server Sam(antha) packed us up a side of Crawfish Risotto (we spied it on the menu board) and some Bread Pudding with Whiskey sauce, to go. Could we love this place any more?!

This place is where you want to be, and where you want to eat. And bring a marker or pen, in case you want to leave some artwork there.

PS That late night snack of risotto was delicious. The bread pudding? Out of this world.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JzmnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Wow! I am rendered nearly speechless by your wonderful review. I will be sure to share it with the entire staff after a long, hard day to pump them up. There is no better feeling in the world than to read a review like yours and to know that our establishment has brought that experience to others. Special thanks to your local friends for recommending us to you. That is actually how most people find us. We would love to see you again the next time you are in St. Louis and rest assured we will still be serving char-grilled oysters! John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broadway Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Broadway Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing