We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we expected and more”

Broadway Oyster Bar
Ranked #17 of 3,045 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Casual French Quarter style restaurant, bar and music venue specializing in award winning Cajun, Creole and Seafood cuisines. Live music 7 nights per week and twice on almost everyday except Friday. Some music is free and some requires a cover charge. Music style includes blues, rock, reggae, funk, New Orleans, R&B, soul, jam, outlaw country and whatever else we hear and like. Open till 3AM with full menu served till 10PM Sunday- Thursday and 11PM on Friday and Saturday and after Cardinal home night games. Late night food till 2 AM on Friday and Saturday night.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had heard wonderful things about this place from friends, so we went on a Saturday afternoon and sat on the patio. We had a few drinks and an appetizer. The band was great and our server Megan M. was so nice. Our glasses never got empty and our bellies were full. lol

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thanks for the great review and thanks to your friends for recommending us to you. The Saturday afternoon experience can be pretty cool on a nice day with the band playing, some good food and drinks and there is ALWAYS plenty of people watching here at BOB. So glad we were able to live up to your expectations. See you soon. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,043 - 1,047 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We came to the BOB on the recommendation of our friend, a local resident. We had only 3 'musts' on our StL list, and this was one of them. Our meal here was seriously and wonderfully delicious. So much so that with only 2 hours to go before our flight out, we nearly turned the wheels of our car in the BOB's direction, just for one more meal. But we figured we'd have to rush through it all, and that would have been disappointing to do. We made the flight. On time. Sigh.

We asked the front desk at the hotel for directions, and found it was only a few blocks away. As we had other commitments around town, we drove by it our first night, and came back for lunch the next day. There was a great crowd out that night, enjoying live entertainment. When we came back for a late lunch, the outdoor area was not as crowded. But sitting there you could just tell this was a great place to be - for food and atmosphere. Colorfully decorated, with a stage for the entertainment, and "customer provided artwork" displayed (and encouraged) everywhere. FUN!

Having perused a menu previously, we began with the CHARGRILLED OYSTERS & a dozen raw ones. We've found East Coast oysters to be on the salty side with West Coast oysters tasting sweeter. What we were served here (Gulf Coast oysters per our server) were the perfect blend of flavor. Chargrilled with garlic and cheeses, mmmm. If we never ate another meal in StL.... If we had to choose a last meal .... Yes, they are THAT good.

We also tried OYSTERS BIENVILLE, our server's recommendation. They are (heat) hot so take care eating them. Don't let them cool too much as the cheese on them will harden, but the underlying sauce is to die for, at any temperature. Just so we wouldn't be oyster snobs, we also tried a Shrimp dish with their VOODOO sauce, very good. We could have stayed there longer to try more things at this culinary heaven, but we had to be on our way. No problem, our server Sam(antha) packed us up a side of Crawfish Risotto (we spied it on the menu board) and some Bread Pudding with Whiskey sauce, to go. Could we love this place any more?!

This place is where you want to be, and where you want to eat. And bring a marker or pen, in case you want to leave some artwork there.

PS That late night snack of risotto was delicious. The bread pudding? Out of this world.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JzmnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Wow! I am rendered nearly speechless by your wonderful review. I will be sure to share it with the entire staff after a long, hard day to pump them up. There is no better feeling in the world than to read a review like yours and to know that our establishment has brought that experience to others. Special thanks to your local friends for recommending us to you. That is actually how most people find us. We would love to see you again the next time you are in St. Louis and rest assured we will still be serving char-grilled oysters! John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I read the reviews on TA before our trip but really had not planned on dining here because we weren't sure it would be in our path. Lucky us, we saw the place when we were on our way to the Arch. We arrived around 4 pm on Sunday and sat on the patio. The live entertainment was great and we liked the vibe of the place. It's a very cool spot! We had a couple beers each and settled on the Justa salad and Crawfish Enchiladas and Fish Tacos. Everything was fresh and delicious. I love spicy food and the enchiladas were just right, as was the side of red beans and rice. We had to leave to catch our flight...otherwise, we would have stayed awhile longer. Service was excellent! Will return if we're in the area!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GinaPhxBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Very glad that big metal magnet down by the riverfront worked again to lure you into BOB! The enchilada's and fish taco's are two of our most popular dishes and we are very happy you liked them and the entertainment. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We sat outside and it was so welcoming and great music was playing. The waitress was great. She was very tentative to our wants and needs. They played a variety of music and the excitement of the upcoming Cards game was in the air. Our meal was good. The chips were a little more done than I like but they were fine. The burger was GREAT. My husband was all excited about having some oysters but passed because of the price of a dozen . . . $20.00. I would definitely go back when we return to St. Louis! Loved it! Might want to go in the evening next time when it's not so hot outside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ThadH781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for the kind words in your review. The pre game rush can get a little hectic but glad you enjoyed yourself. Thanks for mentioning the BURGER! We are well known for Cajun, Creole and Seafood but sometimes our burgers get sad because they never get any attention even though they are really good! Thanks again and see you for dinner next time you are in town. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had drove by this little dive plenty of times and had to stop. Raw oysters were great but I must say the char grilled ones were outta this world awesome!!! I could eat those all day, Also tried their fish tacos and can't complain. Outside sitting was just right for the perfect day in St Louis.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zatz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for the great review. I agree with you. The guys at Drago's in New Orleans who invented char-grilled oysters should be in the foodies Hall Of Fame! They are incredible. Thanks to Tommy at Drago's for inventing them and thanks to you for eating them and taking the time to writea review for us. We hope to see you again soon. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broadway Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Broadway Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing