We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Broadway Oyster Bar
Ranked #8 of 2,901 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Casual French Quarter style restaurant, bar and music venue specializing in award winning Cajun, Creole and Seafood cuisines. Live music 7 nights per week and twice on almost everyday except Friday. Some music is free and some requires a cover charge. Music style includes blues, rock, reggae, funk, New Orleans, R&B, soul, jam, outlaw country and whatever else we hear and like. Open till 3AM with full menu served till 10PM Sunday- Thursday and 11PM on Friday and Saturday and after Cardinal home night games. Late night food till 2 AM on Friday and Saturday night.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Love the food, it's explosion ! Cant go wrong everything its delicious , pretty much everything , specially the oysters , can't wait to go back , if you like live music they have it too !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessy593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Very glad you enjoyed everything and we can't wait to have you back. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    304
    47
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nawlins in St. Louis?”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My all time favorite - Charcoal grilled oysters with butter and parmesan - order it; maybe twice fantastic..

Service is awesome and love the atmosphere of the outdoor courtyard! If ever back in St.Louis- will go,have too!

Enjoy, don't miss; too much fun

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Those char grilled oysters are pretty darn good aren't they? Thanks to Drago's in New Orleans for inventing them and thanks to you for the great review. Hope to see you in St. Louis again soon. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was traveling to St Louis on business and actually chose this restaurant based on prior reviews. I was not at all disappointed. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was unique. This was easily some of the best Cajun food I've had. Interestingly, the bathrooms on the plane ride down were probably bigger than those in the restaurant, otherwise all was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krob2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for the kind words and very glad you found the food good and the atmosphere "interesting" I tell customers who bring it up all the time that the building has character and is full of "characters" as well. I wish we had larger bathrooms too but unfortunately there is no room. The original building was built during the days of the outhouse. They are not big but they are "interesting" Thanks again for the review. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

great Cajun and Creole! loved the atmosphere. Bathrooms were very small and not the best, however interesting

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for the GREAT REVIEW! So glad you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Interesting is.a good word for our bathrooms. The original building was built in 1843 and was equipped with outhouses only. At some point, indoor plumbing was added and bathrooms were placed where the outhouses used to be. Originally there were only 2 bathrooms. The third bathroom, the largest of the 3, was actually a telephone booth until it was converted! Interesting to say the least. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you again. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creve Coeur, MO
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rocked my socks!!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Oh my goodness this place is aMaZiNg!! We could NOT decide what to get so we got a lot of appetizers and 2 entrees and totally destroyed everything!! We loved the Sampler Platter and Snow Crab dinners. The cheesecake and sausage appetizer was my favorite!! And of course they had a live band! The Soulard Blues Band played on the Monday night we were there and they were fantastic! This is a great place to get together with friends and older family members, I don't think children are allowed, bar scene, etc. But this place will definitely be on my husband and I's top list of "date night" options ;-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stlmommyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the GREAT REVIEW! Nothing makes us happier than customers like you who come in and immediately get our concept and have a fun time with it. You got a good sampling of our menu and got to hear fantastic live music on top of everything else. Soulard Blues Band has hosted the open jam here on Monday nights for 35 years and it is, to our knowledge, the longest running blues jam session IN THE WORLD! Glad you got to be a part of that and we hope to see you often in the future. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broadway Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Broadway Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing