We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

The Pat Connolly Tavern
Ranked #205 of 2,907 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Description: Historic neighborhood restaurant, tavern and event space in Dogtown, offering classic pub fare, fine spirits, good value, and a sense of community. Open for weekend brunch at 9am. Conveniently located across from Forest Park and The Zoo, and near the Science Center. Family-friendly during daytime hours.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Pat's is right across from Turtle Park and the Zoo, in the heart of Dogtown. I had the chicken fried chicken, which was great, and the sides were good too. There's also plenty of tvs, and the staff are friendly and laid back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmykw114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Chicken”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had the fried chicken as suggested by several trip advisor reviewers and wasn't disapointed. The chicken was good and crispy, fries soggy and green beans with white diced onions on them weren't so great. It's a little joint which we like - nice cold beer and service was good and attentive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goingtobellagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Simply Wonderful Place”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

As a St. Louis native and frequent visitor, I've been going to Pat's for many years. The food is great, the prices reasonable, the service attentive, and the beer cold. While the food is why I go, it is a bar at heart so the music and conversation can be quite loud at times. If this doesn't bother you, you will love it.

There's a lot more to the menu than fried chicken however -- there's a variety of comfort foods, some higher end items, and even the St. Louis classic, toasted ravioli. In short, this is a classic neighborhood bar and grill that has managed to keep pace with the times without losing its soul. Oh, and smoking is no longer permitted, so you can actuall breathe between bites unlike the old days!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank im_only_sleeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Growing up in St. Louis, I've always gone to Hodaks for the fried chicken. But, while the chicken at Hodaks is always consistantly moist and crunchy, the breading is bland...even just salt and pepper would help. Enter Pat's Bar and Grill. While at Wash U, classmates and myself would head here after night classes and get the fried chicken. When ordering, make sure you get the spicy breading because it is amazing. Also, they have great chicken wings. I was there before a Cards game a few weeks ago and we were able to get a pitcher of beer and a pound of wings for $10!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank commuterstevespe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's the Cheers Bar of St. Louis”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We moved to St. Louis from Atlanta in 1998, discovered Pat's a little later, one of our favorite spots, our home away from home, our second kitchen. We go often, once a week, and never disappointed although the experience changes; each time there is always something redeeming. The fried chicken, rib-eye steak sandwich and soups are always on the money (the french onion and chicken pot pie are my favorites). The home-made chips, when they're done right (thin and crisp, sometimes you do have to send them back), are absolutely stellar because of the remoulade sauce on the side.

Occasionally I get the spinach salad, which is to die for, with a dill dressing (secret recipe). The butterflied fried shrimp is an excellent appetizer....large and flavorful.

By the way, forget about going on St. Patrick's day, the parade goes by here and it's insane.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank USMidWestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pat Connolly Tavern also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to The Pat Connolly Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing