We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Step Back In Time”

Charlie Gitto's On the Hill
Reserve a Table
2
Sat, 7/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #28 of 3,337 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: The Hill
Cross street: Marconi & Edwards
Description: Charlie Gitto's On the Hill is a landmark for fine Italian dining in The Hill neighborhood of St. Louis.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Charlie Gitto’s brings back memories of fine dining back in the late 60’s-70’s. The lighting is dimmed way down and the sound of martinis being shaken make you feel like you’ve stepped back in time. It’s bustling with professionals, families and couples out for a romantic dinner and yet it’s not noisy. My husband and I usually prefer to sit at the bar and eat because it gives us a chance to chat with other visitors and locals. This is another place we visit every year before visiting family in Illinois so we’ve kind of eaten our way through the menu. Everything has been spot on. Toasted ravioli, Arancini, Signature Shrimp, Meatballs Pomodoro, Caesar Salad, steaks, chops, pasta, you name it, it’s all good. We would love to try some of the other well established Italian restaurants on The Hill but our vacation wouldn’t be the same without a dinner at Charlie Gitto’s!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank fritodog60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The most amazing dinner experience we've ever had on vacation. The food, the staff and the service were beyond perfect. We are a party of 7 (2 teenage boys included) so any time we eat out it can be on the expensive side. For the quality of the food and service the price was spot on.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank W1544HPandreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to Charlie Gitto's on the Hill our first night visiting St. Louis. We found the restaurant on Trip Advisor and based our decision on the positive reviews. The restaurant staff was so friendly from the host station to the waitstaff and support staff. Our server, Kate (or Katie) was fantastic. She had a great sense of humor and took really good care of us. We started out by splitting a chopped salad. It was delicious! It was topped with shredded salami and had a very tasty, but light dressing. I ordered the Veal Limonata. This dish was so good! The veal was very tender and the sauce was a perfect blend of lemon and butter (or olive oil) and the didn't over power it with too many capers. My husband had the chicken parmesan, which he enjoyed a lot, but his real favorite was the side of spaghetti and the red sauce. He loved the red sauce! We did not have dessert there as we were planning a visit to Ted Drewes. It was a great meal! We're here for a conference, so we've told our friends to dine there and ask for Kate.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Dsar6798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is St Louis Italian. Great food, great service. Professional but friendly. Just a perfect balance. I love it.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scericson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

Locals recommended that we visit the Hill and in particular Charlie Gitto's on the Hill. It's a bit removed from downtown St Louis but we decided to give it a try. It was one of the best restaurant's visited in my world travels. The food was super! The wine selection was impressive. The atmosphere enveloped us and the serving staff were extremely attentive and helpful. When back in St Louis, Charlie Gitto's on the Hill is a must visit dining spot!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank sueandstevep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Gitto's On the Hill also viewed

 
Florissant, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 

Been to Charlie Gitto's On the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing