We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlie Gitto's

Charlie Gitto's
Reserve with OpenTable
Charlie Gitto's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 2,875 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: The Hill
Cross street: Marconi & Edwards
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were able to make last minute reservations on a Saturday night and really enjoyed our visit. Our waiter definitely knew the menu inside and out and was able to make suggest dishes of interest for each of us. I have to be honest here and say that the service wowed us more than the food. Italian food is one of my favorites and there really wasn't anything special about either of the pasta dishes we ordered. I would probably go to the restaurant again, but it just didn't live up to my expectations after all the reviews I've read. We will have to try different entrees next time around.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FoodLoverinOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    117
    63
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“we love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we live 2 hours drive from this restaurant. We stayed overnight in St Louis before we flew to the Bahama's. We ate at Charlie Gitto's. As always dinner was fabulous. It was a great start to our family vacation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bert0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This was awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

During a recent visit to St. Louis, my wife, adult daughter and I were in The Hill area at dinner time. I had eaten at a couple of restaurants on The Hill before but never Charlie Gitto's. First the service was the best I have ever received. The hostess not only was friendly, but show us to our table outside then proceeded to unwrapped out napkins and silverware. Set the silverware at each of our places, then straightened the napkins and spread them on each of our laps. We placed our orders with a very nice waiter and sat and talked for a while. I was only drinking ice water and after about each 2 swallows, my glass was filled again. This went on during the entire wait for our food. I ordered Tortellini alla Panna, meat-filled tortellini, mushrooms, peas, prosciutto and Parmesan cream sauce. The BEST pasta I have ever eaten!!!!!!!!!!!! I was expecting pretty good food but this was beyond my expectations. This place isn't cheap. It you want cheap, go to Olive Garden. By the way, I love Olive Garden. But Charlie Gitto's is an experience that you will remember for years. From now on, any trip to St. Louis will include Charlie Gitto's. Awesome!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Milan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, Nebraska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eggplant Napoleon was just fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We came late and they were more than happy to see us. The service was super, and the food was as good as the first time I visited. I don't get to St. Louis very often, but Charlie Gitto's has quickly become a favorite. Oh, yes. . . the Eggplant Napoleon was just fabulous.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston suburbs
Level Contributor
142 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice Local Feeling Italian Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have to eat out a lot with travel so I tend to search out local establishments and avoid the franchise operations when I can. This apparently has been a local favorite for many years and still has a great vibe to it. Plenty of celebrity photos on the walls attest to that. I visited on a Monday night expecting an empty restaurant but to my surprise it was jammed by 7pm or so. I guess the recession is over.

Service and the food were very good and fairly priced. I had the lasagna that was served in an individual dish that was recommended by my waitress, a really good call. The Calamari was tender and maybe a little sweeter than what I'm used to, very tasty. With a nice Pinot Nior, again fairly priced, this place will get another visit the next time I’m in St. Louis.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bim55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Gitto's also viewed

 

Been to Charlie Gitto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing