We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian cuisine and even better service!”
Review of Charlie Gitto's

Charlie Gitto's
Reserve with OpenTable
Charlie Gitto's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 2,908 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: The Hill
Cross street: Marconi & Edwards
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian cuisine and even better service!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff is great. Very pleasant and cheerful and helpful. This was recommended by a local friend and I know why. The food is great and the portions are large. It's a little pricy but well worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miller1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    128
    65
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Super staff”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food is always outstanding and a great value. The owner really tries to make you feel welcome. One of the best wine lists in St Louis.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank divr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Italian Gem located in Downtown STL”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Food was great, Prices were AWESOME to the pocket, and the bartender (Candace) was very friendly. Order the calamari and italian sausage....great selections. Will definitely return if ever in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank VAhonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great night on the Hill”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We made a quick trip down to St. Louis to visit my son and his girlfriend. Charlie Gittos is the third or fourth place we have eaten on the Hill, and was by far the best. The food was very good (as is the case throughout the hill) but it was the atmosphere and the service that made the difference. From the moment we walked in unitl the second we walked out, we were met with incredible service and and just a great experience overall. I would highly recommend Charlie Gittos to anyone looking for a great Italian experience on the hill.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldmt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Italian food and in downtown”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

If your in downtown St Louis and don't want to get out and go to the hill, this is your restaurant. The minute you walk in it screams old school Italian. The dark wood open area with a beautiful wood bar and friendly smiles greet you. Its fun to look at all the pictures on the wall and see who's stopped in to eat. I believe there are 3 or 4 of these in the St Louis area but one downtown has the best feel and old school touch. I grew up traveling each summer with my Dad and eating in the old Italian spots on the hill and in St Louis and this brought back those days.
The food was very good and very large portions. On many dishes they even offer a small or large helping.
The waitress was so helpful and gave us great serves. It's within walking distance of most any hotel downtown so no need to break out the car.The price was very fair for the good food and the amount you get.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Gitto's also viewed

 

Been to Charlie Gitto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing