We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, excellent food”
Review of Charlie Gitto's

Charlie Gitto's
Reserve with OpenTable
Charlie Gitto's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 2,901 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: The Hill
Cross street: Marconi & Edwards
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent food”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Penne Borghese was excellently flavored, Linguini with fresh clams was wonderfully presented and generously served with clams in the shell, and seafood risotto was out of this world. Go for a special dinner, you won't be disappointed. Priced very reasonably, take your leftovers home and enjoy them again later.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicko591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    123
    65
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota USA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good, but didn't live up to the hype”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We visited The Hill location which was written up in guide books as having excellent toasted ravioli, a St Louis dish. We thought it was good, but not any better than any other ravioli I've had. We both ordered the lasagna which was good, but not exceptional. The portions were large. I would recommend reservations on weekends.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlovett88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Italian food experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The pastas are fresh and outstanding overall. The desserts were delicious as well. The service is great and very friendly. The back porch area is a great venue weather permitting. I highly recommend this restaurant for a nice fine dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarita377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“we love this place”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Unfortunately we live 2 hours drive from this restaurant. We stayed overnight in St Louis before we flew to the Bahama's. We ate at Charlie Gitto's. As always dinner was fabulous. It was a great start to our family vacation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bert0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just like nana's”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had a family gathering of 9, made even better by the staff and food here. Service was outstanding, pace of meal was perfect, and the food was excellent, if a little pricey. Restaurant was full on a Thursday night, but the staff was up to it. Will go back and on next visit to St. Louis.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Gitto's also viewed

 

Been to Charlie Gitto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing