We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School”
Review of Carl's Drive In

Carl's Drive In
Ranked #428 of 2,926 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Old School”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Travel back in time to this old-fashioned counter grill. Delicious burger! No place to sit during lunch rush, but just as good eating it out of the bag in the car!

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    27
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gotta go to Carl's!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

It is St. Louis favorite! Its like walking into a time warp! Good burgers and great root beer! Just don't be in a hurry if the seats are taken. There aren't many! But once you sit, be prepared to order quickly!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jssc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Novelty Burgers”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Carl’s is a small burger joint that has its grill between two counters with seating for about eight on each side. It’s clean and the service here is quick with your food cooked in front of you while you wait. The women who work the grill/take orders are polite but will never win any personality contests.
I’ve eaten here several times and my most recent experience was typical. The burgers are very thin and cooked almost crispy but have good flavor (unfortunately my recent burger had a hair under the cheese, that’s never happened before) and the fries are great. I would avoid the onion rings as they are basically batter. Prices are a bit high but not unreasonable and they only take cash. They have an ATM on site in case you need to make a withdrawal. Overall I would say this is more of a novelty dining experience instead of someplace to enjoy a serious burger.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thx1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best flavored burger......”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

When I saw the thin patty in my cheese burger I thought my stop at Carl' had been a mistake......then I took my first bite and was hooked!!!! If you are looking for a huge, thick burger, this is not the place. If you are looking for flavor, atmosphere and a root beer in a frozen mug THIS IS THE PLACE!!!! My son recently moved to St.Louis and I plan to lunch at Carl's every time I visit. Carl's burger is to a hamburger what a Krystal is to a hamburger...........it's own unique definition of a burger. Don't miss it!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mdavp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Soto, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Childhood favorite”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

They had the best hot dogs and barrels of root beer. My dad would take me there on occasion. It was a local dive but it was really good!

Helpful?
1 Thank bmartin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carl's Drive In also viewed

 
Overland, Saint Louis
 

Been to Carl's Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing