We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Delicious”
Review of House of India

House of India
Ranked #150 of 2,901 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always Delicious”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We have been going to House of India for years and have never had a bad experience. Whenever we are looking for a cozy and casual dinner House of India hits the spot. The staff is always friendly and the service is great. And, if you work in the area, the lunch buffet is a great economic lunch. Just delicious!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovesthebeach1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thank God! No Buffet!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I am no Indian food expert, but whenever I'm in a new city, I seek out Indian food. So far, my favorite is The Indian Oven in Omaha, NE, but House of India is a close second. The problem with many Indian restaurants is that they appear to be family businesses done on the cheap. House of India is a much more pleasant dining experience than the more common strip shopping location.

I ordered lamb biryani, raita, onion kulcha, and a tomato/cucumber/onion salad.

First, the portions were huge. When the tomato/cucumber salad arrived, I knew I was going to have to have a to-go box. The salad was bright, crisp, and fresh. The lamb biryani was large enough to feed two people and full of tender cubes of lamb. The onion kulcha was steaming and fragrant. I explained to my waiter that I would want plenty of raita with the lamb and he was happy to bring me more.

I arrived around 5:30 and the dining room was sparsely populated. But by the time I left, there was a healthy crowd.

I ordered everything I wanted and left with a bill of under $20.00 (no alcohol). I really thought it was a bargain!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pariswhereyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Authentic Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Today, I had a lunch buffet there. Good location, shop was kept clean and delightful servers.
Best of all, the food is fresh, VERY tasty and authentic! Varieties of choices for vegetarians. Salads are awesome. Can't wait to go back there tomorrow for another lunch buffet! Yummy......

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Best Indian food in St. Louis. Great service and authentic Indian fare.

Helpful?
Thank PuestaDelS0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than ever!”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I have eaten at the lunchtime buffet at this Indian restaurant for 5 years. I have to say, today's food was tastier than ever.

Get there by 11:40 on weekdays if you don't want to wait. The dishes are fantastic, the service excellent, and the price outstanding (under $8 for the buffet).

I understand they do not offer the buffet for dinner, and I have heard mixed reviews from an Indian friend. I can't say either way; it's close enough to work (but not home) that I'm drawn there every couple months for lunch.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zelda1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of India also viewed

Bridgeton, Saint Louis
 
Creve Coeur, Saint Louis
 

Been to House of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing