We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining experience, will be back”

The Tenderloin Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Tenderloin Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #116 of 2,890 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central West End
Description: The "T-Room" has retained the look and feel of those oh so elegant restaurants of a bygone era - plush and comfortable without being "clubby". The dining rooms (two down and one up a short flight of stairs) say: "...Come and stay a while...". And why not? With food this good it's not hard to stay and eat your heart out." Become a Fan of the Tenderloin Room and get updates on entertainment and specials! Our classic Pepperloin a la Tenderloin is seared to mouthwatering perfection with our famous sauce. For the adventurous diner with a large appetite we proudly present our Cowboy Ribeye, sure to satisfy like no other. Remember, steak remains the specialty, but entrees such as rack of lamb, stuffed filet, and veal chops offer spectacular alternatives to the signature beef.
St. Louis, Mo.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience, will be back”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a first rate dining experience. The restaurant has a long history of prestige and excellence, and is located in the Chase Hotel. It has been able to stay modern and keep up with the times. Its biggest reputation is as a steak house. For some reason I had not been to the Tenderloin Room for some 10 years. Don't know why, as the experience previously had always been excellent.

Went on 12/14/13 with my wife and one other couple. Wonderful evening. Easy valet parking, which is free with restaurant validation. The common areas were beautiful in Christmas decoration. Very attractive room, comfortable environment, easy to talk and enjoy the company at our table and the dinner.

Very friendly, informative and appropriately attentive wait staff. Our server was Spiro, I would highly recommend him. Excellent menu and wine list. Dinner was superb. We can highly recommend the shrimp cocktail and salmon appetizers and the Caesar salad. All four of us had the entrée special of Pepperloin Tenderloin. Steaks were prepared perfectly to order and were the finest, most tender and delicious steaks you will ever eat. Save room for the tableside flambe desserts. We shared Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee. The "show" of preparation and the wonderful flavor of the desserts should not be missed. Prices were medium to high, but given the wonderful evening - very appropriate. We will be back soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TPHOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    24
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Steaks at the Tenderloin room are as good as it gets. The pepperloin is not to be missed. Great service and ambience.

Dined there 40 years ago on honeymoon, and again in Jan 2014. It was just as good as I remembered.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wetravelforfun44231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
146 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a fun New Year's Eve”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had reservations at the Tenderloin room at 8:30 on New Year's Eve. Our table was ready and we had a very attentive waiter. It was a set menu for an all inclusive price not including tax, tip or any type of drink. The offering on the menu were very nice and even their signature tenderloin which my husband had and enjoyed very much. I had Chiliean Sea Bass and it was wonderful, even in a steak restaurant. They had a great 3 piece band with a singer and a dance floor. We could dance between courses. They passed out cute hats to everyone and glasses of bubbly for mid-night, one of the best New Years parties I have been to.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlenelisch1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckneyville IL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“20th Anniversary!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We spent the evening in St Louis for our 20th Wedding Anniversary and decided to eat at The Tenderloin Room due to didn't think we could go anywhere else and still make our show reservations! We had 5 o'clock reservations and they let us in about ten till. They sat us in a corner booth and the waiter came over and started his job and was very helpful. He found out it was our anniversary and wished us a Happy one. He went over the menu and told us a little bit about it what was on it and then we decided and ordered. And all we have to say was from the salads to the main course is WOW. We both enjoyed our meals. I had the Peppercorn Filet and it was melt in your mouth. Then after we finished they surprised us with a piece of Cheesecake! This isn't a place I would visit every weekend just due to the cost but if you want a great steak and great service and a special place to dine then this is the place to go! Thanks

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wright0769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Chase Park Plaza Hotel several times, and finally had the chance to dine at the Tenderloin Room.

What a treat! Friendly, expert service, a good selection of wine, and scrumptious food.

My husband and I enjoyed the jumbo shrimp with cocktail sauce for an appetizer. For dinner, we both ordered the signature "Pepperloin" grilled tenderloin, which came with twice-baked mashed potatoes and green beans. Usually a fast eater, I slowed the pace so I could savor every bite.

Everything was prepared and served perfectly!

No room for dessert, so no comments about dessert. :-)

Helpful?
Thank cg_travels_and_eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tenderloin Room also viewed

 

Been to The Tenderloin Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing