We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“in New Zealand, we are attracted to the eight point Rack of Lamb”

Carmine's Steak House
Ranked #65 of 2,880 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Walnut Street
Description: Carmine's Steak House, located in the heart of downtown St. Louis in the newly renovated Drury Plaza Hotel, promises and delivers the finest in aged steaks, hand-cut chops, rack of lamb, chicken and seafood entrees, as well as Lombardo's signature toasted ravioli. House made desserts, from our in house pastry chef. Extensive wine list. With private rooms that can accommodate 10-170 people and nightly complimentary valet parking, Carmine's offers convenience for tourists, business meetings, and local diners alike.
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
2,512 reviews
1,640 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,854 helpful votes
“in New Zealand, we are attracted to the eight point Rack of Lamb”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Carmine’s Steakhouse is located within walking distance of Mike Shannon’s where we dined on porterhouse last night. At the outset, we strongly recommend both of these steakhouses.

We observe that Carmine’s Steakhouse proudly displays the 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate. We also observe that many reviews in TripAdvisor have pronounced Carmine’s Steakhouse excellent in all categories. We greatly value TripAdvisor’s reviews, especially consistent reviews.

Carmine’s Steakhouse is a mid-sized restaurant with a “gang” in the bar watching sports TV. Fortunately this noise does not enter the dining room.

Carmine’s Steakhouse dining room carpet and light jazz permits quiet dinner conversation, and we like this. Having spent a month last summer in New Zealand, we are attracted to the eight point Rack of Lamb, and a huge baked potato; we select the house Cabernet Sauvignon and are pleased.

The hostess, manager, and server Todd makes us welcome in this upscale St. Louis steakhouse. We like the two walls of windows, the creative lighting, the Oak tables and chairs, and the art of the steakhouse.

The Rack of Lamb is a classic presentation with the required mint. In our view Carmine’s Steakhouse’s Rack of Lamb is distinctly better than any Rack of Lamb we experienced in New Zealand. It seems to be the rare restaurant that will offer Rack of Lamb on its menu.

The dining clientele is business folks and or couples. All men are dressed nicely, and not a few women are wearing gold and diamonds.

We like Carmine’s Steakhouse, the ambience, the service, the management and especially the Rack of Lamb. The tariff is appropriate for the fare.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    83
    30
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Carmine's has the look and feel of a well established, age old Italian restaurant. The service was very good and the food arrived at the table promptly. The menu was not especially innovative and relied on most of the staples we have all tried many times over. The execution and presentation of the food was pretty good but uninspiring. All in all, not a bad meal but at $160 for 2 of us (with no wine), it did not represent great value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJWWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sinful...”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had wonderful service and an excellent meal. I order two pieces of ravoli. They were so huge TWO was plenty. (Although as I am writng this I wish I had a zillion in front of me to indulge in.) Absolutely delicious and the best I have ever had!!!! I also had the Filet Gorgonzola. As stated on the menu, it is an "8-ounce Charbroiled Tenderloin in a Gorgonzola White Wine Sauce with Green Peppercorns and Shallots." The BEST!!! Rich, luxurious, delicious!!! Oh my,,, I can't wait to have it again!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjurenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Carmine's Steak House, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We work very hard to provide good service and food. Our reward for our hardwork is reading comments like yours, it makes us very proud. Thank you so much and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Sincerely,
James Logston
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden, Tenn
Level Contributor
375 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Meal downtown St. Louis”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our party of eight all ordered steaks and all were delicious. Service is excellent and prices reasonable for an urban location. This is simply a first rate steak house and I recommend it without hesitation, top to bottom.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank civilwarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Carmine's Steak House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for spending the time to give us a little feedback. I am so glad to hear that everyone enjoyed their dinner last night. We appreciate the kind words, thank you so much.
Sincerely,
James Logston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Outstanding Service”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We try to visit Carmine's whenever we are in St. Louis. The staff is excellent, management is very professional, and the food is delicious. In addition, the portions are generous!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happyelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Carmine's Steak House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for spending the time to give us a review and some feedback. It gives me much pleasure to hear of your outstanding experience with us. I want to thank you for being a loyal customer and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
James Logston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmine's Steak House also viewed

 
Des Peres, Saint Louis
 
Frontenac, Saint Louis
 

Been to Carmine's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing