We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fireside or lakeside ambiance”

Boathouse Forest Park
Ranked #335 of 2,880 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hampton
Description: Back and better than ever. This casual restaurant, bar, and boat rental facility, located in the heart of Forest Park on Post-Dispatch Lake, is like no other place in St. Louis. The Boathouse has undergone major renovations thanks to a gift from the Jack Taylor family. In the warm weather enjoy leisurely boat rides, lakeside patio dining, cold drinks, live music, and beautiful sunsets. In the cold weather enjoy indoor dining for lunch, dinner, and weekend brunch…or just come and enjoy a glass of wine or a hot chocolate while relaxing around the large stone wood-burning fireplace. **Due to increased traffic in the Park during our busy season, we’ll be able to accommodate reservations for large parties only, 10-16 people, for indoor dining at specific times. Otherwise, our seating is available on a first come, first serve basis.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fireside or lakeside ambiance”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have been there often and find it to be a comforting place-gravel ion your shoes for outdoor rocking sounds and toasting 50% of your body in the fall and winter outside by the fire as you wait for a table. Inside fireplace, sweet wait staff and good but not unusual food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PastorPrime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    119
    60
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is has always been a fun experience for us. Whenever we are in the city for an event, we make a point to hit the Boat House.

It doesn't matter if you are sitting inside or outside, the staff is welcoming, polite and friendly.

Food is always good, as usual, the larger the group, the longer the wait time (but that's obvious)..but the food always comes out at the same time and is always hot!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank FoodeyPatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A place to bring out-of-towners”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I love The Boat House for it's unique atmosphere, scenic view, outdoor dining, casual style, allowing dogs & sinful desserts. I brought 3 friends visiting from North Dakota here for a nice late afternoon lunch. The were a little taken back by the price, but I think they are just use to North Dakota pricing. We were all very happy with the food, portion size & service. Every time I have out of town visitors or lunch want to do something 'alittle special' compared to the normal dining I do, I always come here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Romantic and quaint”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

All of forest Park is beautiful and the setting for this restuarant is totally lovely, as you eat you will see paddle boats on the lake and if you are lucky an incredable sunset on the water. FOod is good, but teh view sells em on this place! And it is just a short walk to the Muny, the zoo or theArt or History museum

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandiatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
421 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great setting; average food and service.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Following a visit to the incredible St. Louis Zoo we opted for the Boathouse.
Our server promptly too our order and then disappeared.
Several patrons who arrived after us were served before us.
Finally catching our serves eye and asking at least for our drinks he admitted that our order was "misplaced."
Three pizzas and an order of the fish and chips comprised our order.
Pizzas were good, but with a lot of crust.
I had the fish and chips, malt vinegar is available, and they were above average.
Batter was crisp, but not greasey; chips were hot.

The place was busy on a sunny Monday afternoon in September.
All in all I would go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse Forest Park also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Boathouse Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing