We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese Food”
Review of Yen Ching

Yen Ching
Ranked #867 of 2,901 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chinese Food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hot braised shrimp was tasty. I was extremely glad that it was not over breaded like every other place in the city that serves this dish. I miss Four Seasons Chinese food that was on S. Grand. They had the best ever! This is not even close to as tasty but it is the only place I have found where there is more shrimp than breading. The sauce was good. not spicy enough and a bit salty but good. The service was very friendly and food was hot and fresh. I will go back when I get the craving.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kennergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olivette, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overall Winner”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have been eating here for about 4 years now. I always get the hot braised chicken lunch special so I can only speak to that and tell you that it is great. The owner is very nice and welcoming. He takes good care of his customers. Good price and good value.

This is my favorite Chinese restaurant while at home. I drive past many other Chinese restaurants that are much closer to my house. I make the trip because I know that everything will be freshly prepared and will taste excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our favorite Chinese in St. Louis”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stopped by Yen Ching for lunch recently and were favorably impressed. One caveat if you are sensitive to MSG you can request the main course to be prepared MSG free. My husband is sensitive so he ordered his main course free of MSG. We both love their Yen Ching Beef and the lunch portion seemed as large as the dinner but at a much reduced price. Lunch also included Sweet and sour soup and an egg roll (presumably with MSG) and hot tea. My husband figured a small amount of MSG in the soup and egg roll wouldn't bother him...and it didn't. Everything about the meal was excellent, including the service. We are seniors and often prefer to take our main meal at lunch and graze for dinner. This gets two thumbs up from us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Been around a long time in great location, and continues to serve very good food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuckySadieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
139 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Chinese”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The chinese food here is really good and they are proud of it. The price is about double normal chinese takeout but definitely worth it every now and then.

Helpful?
Thank Jason1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yen Ching also viewed

 
Overland, Saint Louis
 

Been to Yen Ching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing