We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location at a Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Parkway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel
Ranked #34 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
289 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great location at a Nice Hotel”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed at the Parkway Hotel for 3 nights. The location is excellent as it is close to restaurants, Forest Park, and the highway. Our room was very clean and although facing the parking garage, it was very quiet. The hotel did offer to move us to a room with a view of the street but we spent little time in the room. The tv needs updating compared to other hotels and there was no wireless in the room but there was a wired connection which worked just fine. We did have a dog with us and the hotel made us all feel comfortable. In fact, they gave us a bandanna for the pup. The people at the front desk were very professional and helpful. There was fresh fruit all the time in the lobby and the continental breakfast was acceptable. Located in a safe area with plenty of opportunities for walking. There was no pool but had a small fitness center and a business center.

The only problem we encountered was a family who felt they were the only ones in the hotel. They left the room to make cell phone calls outside our room and our dog started to bark. They did not want to disturb their children so they disturbed us. Earlier, they were also loud in their room.

We are heading back to St Louis for a return trip and will be staying at the Parkway.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Manager at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Hello and thank you for the review of our hotel. Great news for your next visit to the Parkway Hotel. During the month of August, we are in the process of installing 32" flat screen TV's in all of our guestrooms, very exciting! We are glad that you enjoyed our freebees in the lobby, (coffee, tea, fresh fruit, popcorn and fresh baked cookies.) Regarding your neighbors that did not have "cell phone edict ", this is when hotel security comes in handy. I'm sure the neighbor did not realize this was disturbing to anyone. Our security would have given them a friendly reminder to use their inside voice and they would have realized they were disturbing others. Once again, thank you for the review, and thank you for selecting The Parkway Hotel. We look forward to having you as our guest during your next trip to St. Louis. Be sure to ask about current packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    151
    85
    21
    17
See reviews for
190
73
45
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tuckersmommy1971
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

The hotel itself is mediocre. A bit dated but clean. The breakfast set-up is awful. No organization at all and no one cleaning tables, etc. The food tasted ok but we avoided it the second morning because it just wasn't worth it. Our biggest issue by far was our experience the second night of our stay. We were traveling with a 21-month old. She's very enthusiastic as are most babies. We received a knock on our door at about 9pm. It was a security guard telling us that if we didn't quiet down we would have to leave! The baby was laughing! Not crying - not screaming. They had a noise complaint. That is RIDICULOUS! It was not 11 or 12. It was barely 9pm! She was excited and away from home. Ironically, she was less than 30 minutes from going to sleep. The person complaining should have been told that there is little they can do about a laughing baby at 9pm!! Instead, we were threatened. Thanks to the rude security guard, my 8-year old son was scared to sleep. It took an hour to convince him that they weren't going to kick us out. I was livid! Had we not been that far from home, I would have packed up and left. The manager (nice enough) did come up at our request. By then it was too late - the damage was done. The customer service spin was a waste. We did nothing wrong. Needless to say, I will NEVER stay at that hotel again nor will any of my family and friends. Now my son associates our zoo trip with a security guard instead of fun memories with his neice. And to the complainers - I hope karma catches up with you. Pathetic!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuckersmommy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Hello and thank you for your comments. That evening was rather hectic and memorable for our hotel staff as well. We had over 6 different complaints within 30 minutes regarding the noise level coming from your guestroom therefore our security officer had to do his job which is responding to guest complaints.
Like all hotels, we want all of our guests to have a relaxing and enjoyable evening and we have to do our job which is to confront the guest in the one room that is causing the complaints. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed at The Parkway over the 4th of July holiday to sight see and enjoy some baseball games. This hotel was such a pleasant surprise for the price! Clean, roomy rooms and very friendly staff. The complementary breakfast was a treat. It's location is nearby a small dining/entertainment district and just 2 blocks from the metro station, which was so very convenient. When our friends had an electricity problem with their room, they quickly moved them to a different room, hassle-free. We felt very safe walking in the neighborhood at night, too. They charge $5 per day for parking, which is nothing compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheeseheadInOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Every year my dad and I come to St. Louis to go to a Cardinals baseball game. We like places that are easy to access with the metro and easy access to the hotel. So I discovered The Parkway Hotel. We loved the fact that the hotel was a short walking distance to the metro and the hotel itself was 100% smoke free! We also loved how Applebee's was in the hotel. But that's all we knew. When we got there we were early for check-in and we had a dog with us. Salena; at the front desk check us in early with no problem so we could get to the game on time. We thought that we could leave our dog in the hotel room, but she started barking. We had no idea what to do. So we went to the front desk. ALL Seven of the employees up to the head boss tried to be accommodating even allowing us to leave our dog in the office in her kennel behind the front desk. Of course, she started barking. So instead of turning their backs, they help us find a dog sitter for the afternoon. The rooms were just as amazing and we were treated like we mattered. We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpslm271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Let me start by saying this trip was made so much easier for myself and extended family member. it all started with the front desk Jonathan is the best, Our trip brought us to Missouri to spend some time with a family member at Barnes Jewish . Jonathan was very helpful and kind to us. The room was very nice clean and comfortable , we had a double bed room. The walkways as i call them made it easy access to the hospital and back. The breakfast was enjoyable with hot waffles etc. When I go back in a few months to see my family member at Barnes Jewish I will stay here . With applebees in the hotel it made it very easy to grab dinner. again The Parkway is the best......

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diva8362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on the excellent customer service that our staff provides our guests. During your next visit to the Parkway Hotel be sure to stop by the lobby between 5:30pm to 9pm, we bake delicious cookies that our guests look forward to each evening. Also our newly renovated fitness center is free to our guests as well and has a 42" flat screen TV. Thank you again for selecting The Parkway Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again and making your stay once again, enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

In a word awful. The parking is difficult because you park in a ballet lot with thin spaces. It's a long walk to the hotel too. They also charge for parking and don't tell you until you get the bill.

They have no high chairs at breakfast. It's largely not a kid friendly hotel. The breakfast is not really the best; the food is awful and doesn't get restocked often.

There are a large number of rooms that 'look out' to the parking deck.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petejuvinall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

I stayed at this hotel recently. It was nice enough, service was good, and being adjacent to the medical center was great. Having read the reviews before heading to STL I asked if the rooms had tubs. The person on the phone said they did. We arrived and checked into our room. After we had unloaded our stuff in the room we discovered that the room had no tub. We were staying just one night so decided not to worry about it and didn't complain. Trust me, if we go back we will definitely not accept a shower room again! This bathroom was evidently installed by Ray Charles. For no good reason the storage shelf for the towels was INSIDE THE SHOWER! What was not inside the shower was the SHOWER CURTAIN! As a previous poster mentioned, the rod curved out into the bathroom nearly a foot. Any water that hit the curtain just ran into the floor, which was a lot. There was plenty of wall space for the shelf to have been somewhere else and a straight shower rod would correct the flooding issue. This has to be a common complaint at this place. I can't imagine that this issue wasn't corrected the day after the hotel opened. I would definitely stay there again, providing I get a tub/shower combo room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeandTheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,056 reviews
The Cheshire
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel

Property: The Parkway Hotel
Address: 4550 Forest Park Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63108-2114
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parkway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkway Hotel, Fully Renovated with a Modern, sleek, upscale look. only 5 minutes from downtown St. Louis. With 217 guestrooms, they provide the customer service that will always make your stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. As their guest, you will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, popcorn, fresh baked cookies, 24 hour coffee and fresh fruit. The St. Louis Metro Link station is 1 block from the Hotel. It provides inexpensive transportation from Lambert Airport and throughout the city. The Parkway courtesy shuttle is also available. It travels within the Central West End. Sign up for the Parkway shuttle is located at the Parkway's front desk. The Central West End consists of 6 blocks of restaurants and cafe's nestled among art galleries, antique and specialty shops. The Parkway Hotel is adjacent to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Muny, Jewel Box, Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes/Children's Hospital, Close to dozens of wedding venues. The Parkway Hotel,is the perfect hotel whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We do not accept pets at this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing