We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately, Proximate to Hospital Complex”
Review of The Parkway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel
Ranked #31 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

A stately older hotel with a friendly staff, warm breakfast and on the corner of a large hospital complex. Easy to reach on the Metro-link from the STL airport or downtown. Coffee and popcorn in the lobby and big comfortable seats when you are waiting for family or friends. Has an Applebee's restaurant on the corner of the first floor but lots of good restaurants, bars, etc. across the street and down Euclid Avenue. Most of the guests in the hotel seem to have some business or are visiting the hospital/med school complex.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 7th floor and looked out over the hospital complex, low floors in the back look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 605 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

as you can tell by the title we were here for a two week hospital stay. MY first phone contact prior to arriving with terry front desk manager allied many concerns regarding transportation etc. we were treated like family from our first day until we left. rooms clean and comfortable with coffee makers microwaves refrigerator. big breakfast fresh baked cookies every night 24hrs of tea coffee. everybody from the front desk to the housekeeping staff were kind and helpful. This hotel does hospitality to a tee. location for most venues near by. I will always stay there when in st louis

Room Tip: ask for rooms with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnie498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were in St Louis as part of a road trip,(and to see Chuck Berry) and this hotel was perfect.Make use of the shuttle (Eddie,great guy!!!).Clean comfortable staff very friendly and helpful,breakfast was plentiful, and room rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alkey70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The proximity to Barnes Hospital and the Siteman Center cannot be beat. The price is reasonable, given the location. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The view is wonderful. We enjoyed a walk each morning at nearby Forest Park.
The free breakfast was acceptable.
The adjacent parking was fine.
The check-in staff was wonderful.
There is an Applebees connected to the hotel. We walked to one of several nearby restuarants.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank smurer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Connected to Barnes-Jewish hospital and right next to the zoo, so that's good. Not exactly close to Busch stadium, which is what we came for, but nothing a taxi can't solve. Beds are pretty comfortable, but the pull out couches feel like a wire baking sheet with a sheet pulled over it. Very sore the next day. Nice channel selection, but a truly crappy mini fridge. The breakfast is complimentary, and I could soon see why. It has a descent selection, but no waffle maker or pastries, and the biscuits are like eating cotton. Not a terrible hotel, but I've definitely been to better. However, I did appreciate Panera Bread being right across the street

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We made arrangements to attend a convention in St Louis, last minute and all the hotels near the convention center were booked. We found the Parkway and were pleasantly surprised to find this reasonably priced hotel. The rooms are large, clean and well equipped; the bed linens are comfortable, the staff polite and accommodating. There are eateries nearby and there are parks around the neighborhood. It is also very close to the botanical garden and other museums. Since we were staying through Sunday, we liked that it is only a few minutes from the Cathedral Basilica of St Louis where we attended Palm Sunday service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rfoz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Parkway Hotel attached to Barnes Jewish Hospital is a very convenient and hospitable place to stay while you need care in the hospital. The rooms are large and well equipped with fridge and microwave oven. The breakfast needs a lot to be desired but the chocolate cookies in the afternoon are delicious. The staff is helpful and friendly. Parking is $5 extra but worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgrandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
992 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
#77 of 123 in Saint Louis
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel

Address: 4550 Forest Park Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63108-2114
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $133 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parkway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkway Hotel, Fully Renovated with a Modern, sleek, upscale look. only 5 minutes from downtown St. Louis. With 217 guestrooms, they provide the customer service that will always make your stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. As their guest, you will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, popcorn, fresh baked cookies, 24 hour coffee and fresh fruit. The St. Louis Metro Link station is 1 block from the Hotel. It provides inexpensive transportation from Lambert Airport and throughout the city. The Parkway courtesy shuttle is also available. It travels within the Central West End. Sign up for the Parkway shuttle is located at the Parkway's front desk. The Central West End consists of 6 blocks of restaurants and cafe's nestled among art galleries, antique and specialty shops. The Parkway Hotel is adjacent to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Muny, Jewel Box, Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes/Children's Hospital, Close to dozens of wedding venues. The Parkway Hotel,is the perfect hotel whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We do not accept pets at this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing