We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with good service”
Review of The Parkway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel
Ranked #30 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average hotel with good service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The rooms are ok, small but have everything you need. Bathrooms are also pretty small and an awkward layout. The hotel is close to lots of wonderful restaurants & the walking in the neighborhood is wonderful -- beautiful old mansions and redone storefronts.

It is a great place to stay if you need to be close to Barnes Jewish -- there is a skyway between the hotel and the Advanced Medicine Center, which eventually leads to the hospital.

The breakfast is hot and adequate, but almost the same everyday. Kind of like school lunch food. There are yummy chocolate chip cookies in the evening and popcorn.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the 3rd floor for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexicogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    158
    88
    24
    18
See reviews for
210
78
48
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The room was dirty when we got here. There was hair from previous guests in the shower, a pillow with blood stains in the closet and it was obvious it had not been vacuumed.
The room was tiny with a loud and old AC unit.
Breakfast was bad.
Good location.
I wouldn't stay here again. I'm sure there are better places for less money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caligulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I used to live in the neighborhood, and my family stayed here when they came to visit me in St Louis. They loved The Parkway. It was clean, quiet/relaxing, conveniently located, and had a wonderful staff. Their last stay was 3 years ago.

I recently returned to St Louis for a visit, and chose to stay at The Parkway. It was disappointing to see how this hotel has declined in the past few years. The location is still perfect for exploring the city, and the price is right, but that's about it. Everything just looks...tired. The furniture in the lobby is stained and sagging. The breakfast buffet is barely acceptable and poorly stocked. The staff seemed stressed out and exhausted. The lobby was loud all the time, like walking through a middle school cafeteria on the last day of school. This is certainly not the quiet oasis that families visiting a loved one need (The Parkway is connected to the hospital via a 3rd floor walkway). Maybe we chose a bad weekend - it did seem like they were hosting a few large groups for weddings, but The Parkway is just not set up to host large groups without inconveniencing their other guests. It's a very small hotel. I would still suggest The Parkway for people wanting to explore the city and use the hotel solely as a place to sleep. Again: Perfect location. Right price. Good luck!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisB465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel overall was nicely decorated and seemingly clean but the room had too many big flaws to make it a repeat stay. I have three main complaints 1) room size/layout/condition 2)staff 3)placement. Firstly, it may have been because we ordered a King sized bed but the room looked considerably smaller than most other rooms at comparable hotels. The bathroom was no larger than 30 sq ft, it was extremely small and awkward. The towel rack was inside the shower and our ceiling had a large piece of drywall that looked like it was cut from the ceiling then hastily screwed back in without repairing. However the bed and furnishing were decent. Secondly the staff was by no means pleasant (morning or night staff). I only stayed one night but had the same morning/afternoon staff and interacted with the evening staff as well. Neither seemed eager to help me and acted like I was a burden to be assisted. The morning of check out I walked up to the desk with no working employees and a like of 5 rooms waiting to be checked out. The staff member jumped out of the back room and looked surprised at the amount of people to check out. Finally something that many hotels are able to control (I was surprised since I paid plenty that this was an issue), but we were placed between two very loud families with children. After two calls to the front desk, the kids were still screaming with no help from the parents. One last thing - our window opened to 3 open feet then the parking garage, screaming car alarms and all.
Overall - I had a bad experience and would not recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a couples getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel face the parking garage, opt for the $5 parking - its much cheaper th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Rooms were clean, staff was friendly and helpful, coffee, apples,popcorn, and cookies in the lobby were a plus. Breakfast was mediocre. The location is perfect for the Muny and other popular sites. I love that this hotel has a special floor which will allow their customers to bring their dogs. I felt safe and very much at home there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theatre_lover234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield,IL 62712
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I sayed at the Parkway Hotel for one night in June. I hose it because it was close to my son's apartment. It has a great location: close to Barnes Hospital; close to Forest Park and close to US 64. The staff were very nice. The room was adequate but nothing fancy about it. There was just nothing appealing about the room. The breakfast the next morning was just like the room, adequate but that is about it. Would I stay there again? Yes, because of the location and no major problems.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirkMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay! Me and husband wanted a night away and the Parkway was a perfect choice. The lobby was beautiful with complimentary cookies and popcorn, the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and were super friendly! The view from the room was perfect! This hotel is in an excellent location, close to all the fun of the Central West End. The bed was super comfy and the robes made it perfect! I highly recommend The Parkway for all your hotel needs!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
963 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel

Property: The Parkway Hotel
Address: 4550 Forest Park Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63108-2114
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parkway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkway Hotel, Fully Renovated with a Modern, sleek, upscale look. only 5 minutes from downtown St. Louis. With 217 guestrooms, they provide the customer service that will always make your stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. As their guest, you will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, popcorn, fresh baked cookies, 24 hour coffee and fresh fruit. The St. Louis Metro Link station is 1 block from the Hotel. It provides inexpensive transportation from Lambert Airport and throughout the city. The Parkway courtesy shuttle is also available. It travels within the Central West End. Sign up for the Parkway shuttle is located at the Parkway's front desk. The Central West End consists of 6 blocks of restaurants and cafe's nestled among art galleries, antique and specialty shops. The Parkway Hotel is adjacent to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Muny, Jewel Box, Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes/Children's Hospital, Close to dozens of wedding venues. The Parkway Hotel,is the perfect hotel whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We do not accept pets at this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing