We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Place to Stay and Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Parkway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel
Ranked #34 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Carterville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Place to Stay and Convenient”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have to come to St. Louis every 6 weeks to visit Barnes Hospital, and The Parkway Hotel is the only place we will stay. Every time we stay there we are treated like family. The entire staff is friendly and courteous. The rooms are clean, and I can't think of a better place to stay. I really love how the hotel has coffee and assorted teas for the guests. The chocolate chip cookies that are offered in the evening are phenomenal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    151
    85
    21
    17
See reviews for
190
73
45
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice and the staff is wonderful. The front desk, management, housekeeping, bell staff, shuttle drivers all greet you with a smile and treat you like family. The rooms are comfortable. I prefer the upper floors. The breakfast buffet in the morning is tasty and free! I have received better service at this hotel than I have received at a 5 star resort. I like the convenience of the Applebee's and the chocolate chip cookies and popcorn at night. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The shuttle will take you to the zoo or anywhere near the hotel. I've taken the metro to see a Cards game. Overall the Parkway Hotel is wonderful and a great value. Even though we visit St. Louis for medical reasons, it is nice to know that the staff cares about our stay. I am looking forward to our next stay at the Parkway Hotel this summer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaribLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Front Office Manager at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Parkway Hotel. So happy that you had gotten to enjoy all of our delicious and complimentary goodies. The managers do take pride in the wonderful customer service skills. of our staff. They honestly do enjoy taking the time to talk to our guests and making them feel like family. Our staff is like a little family and we enjoy all of the visitors that stay in our home. :O)
The Metro link is definetly the way to go to quickly get to downtown (and many other locations) to cheer on the Cards to avoid paying for high priced downtown parking .
Thank you for selecting the Parkway Hotel and we look forward to having YOUR family visit OUR family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was our second stay at The Parkway Hotel. My daughter had surgery at the adjoining hospital, and you couldn't put a price on the convenience of being able to walk back and forth between the hospital and the hotel via covered walkways. It helped me keep my sanity to be able to go back to the room for a shower or snack without having to drive or take a shuttle!

The staff is incredibly understanding of guests who are at the hotel for medical reasons, and they couldn't have been more accommodating. I would recommend The Parkway for anyone needing treatment at the medical facilities without hesitation.

Our room was nice, and we loved the convenience of the microwave and mini fridge. We used the hotel shuttle to go to Walmart and stock up on drinks and snacks for our nine day stay. The only negative to our room was that the bathroom was showing some wear and tear. The shower rod was starting to fall off as was the one towel rack that was located in the shower. It only took one phone call, however, and these items were fixed the same day. More towel bars would be useful.

Housekeeping for our room was exceptional. I was surprised to see that the hallways were not kept very clean. There were piles of food crumbs outside our door that stayed there for several days. We did not witness this on our previous stay so I think this had something to do with the timing of our visit as our stay encompassed New Year's Eve and the preceding weekend.

I will definitely stay at The Parkway if my daughter requires follow-up visits.

Room Tip: The hotel is between a busy street and a parking garage. We prefer the parking garage so that there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doniphan, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for a doctor visit. This was extremely convenient for the doctor visit, as we where from out of town and St. Louis was very unfamiliar to us.

Nice clean place to stay.
Rooms where big and clean.
Beds where comfortable.
Staff was very courteous.
Cookies in lobby where very good.
Internet access is wireless in lobby, but only wired internet access is in room. Speed is very good.
Breakfast wasn't the best, eggs where bland and the biscuits where dry.
Parking in the garage wasn't very convenient, a small amount of walking is involved. (I have handicapped family.) You can pull up to the front door to drop family off though.
They do offer a discounted medical rate.
For the quoted rate, expect at least $20 in taxes and fees to be added to bill upon checkout. This includes a $5 parking fee, city taxes, convention taxes and state taxes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Adjacent to Barnes-Jewish hospital is the best part! A Barnes patient rate is available, making it a pretty good deal, and much more comfortable than the Barnes Lodge. Quiet and has a fitness center but the breakfast was gone by the time I got down there an hour after it was to start. No complementary fruit or anything in the lobby for guests.

Showers are great, towels are nice, rooms are spacious and beds are comfy. There was a fire drill when I was trying to catch a nap that lasted an hour! There is an inside walkway connecting to the CAM center so that guests dont have to go outside to cross over to CAM. Very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A very comfortable and friendly hotel, with clean and spacious rooms, a wonderful staff, and reasonable rates. Instead of being charged a mini bar fee, every day snacks and water are in your room at no additional charge. Cookies in the lobby every night, coffee night or day, and a great breakfast each morning. Beds are very comfortable, and walls thick enough so you hear little of the outside and feel like you're the only one in the hotel. A 24 hour shop is in the lobby offering food, drink, and various other items. It was very convenient, and it's open 24 hours a day. A good fitness center, and a good location near the medical center and Washington University.

I'm not in St. Louis often, but if this hotel were in other cities I'd stay there in a minute.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norris City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed there for an extended period because of sickness and having services at the Center for Advanced Medicine. These are wonderful people and have such a caring attitude for their patrons. There is a resturant attached and many more nice places within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gramie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,056 reviews
The Cheshire
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel

Property: The Parkway Hotel
Address: 4550 Forest Park Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63108-2114
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parkway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkway Hotel, Fully Renovated with a Modern, sleek, upscale look. only 5 minutes from downtown St. Louis. With 217 guestrooms, they provide the customer service that will always make your stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. As their guest, you will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, popcorn, fresh baked cookies, 24 hour coffee and fresh fruit. The St. Louis Metro Link station is 1 block from the Hotel. It provides inexpensive transportation from Lambert Airport and throughout the city. The Parkway courtesy shuttle is also available. It travels within the Central West End. Sign up for the Parkway shuttle is located at the Parkway's front desk. The Central West End consists of 6 blocks of restaurants and cafe's nestled among art galleries, antique and specialty shops. The Parkway Hotel is adjacent to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Muny, Jewel Box, Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes/Children's Hospital, Close to dozens of wedding venues. The Parkway Hotel,is the perfect hotel whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We do not accept pets at this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing