We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location and Service are Awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Parkway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel
Ranked #43 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location and Service are Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was our second stay at The Parkway Hotel. My daughter had surgery at the adjoining hospital, and you couldn't put a price on the convenience of being able to walk back and forth between the hospital and the hotel via covered walkways. It helped me keep my sanity to be able to go back to the room for a shower or snack without having to drive or take a shuttle!

The staff is incredibly understanding of guests who are at the hotel for medical reasons, and they couldn't have been more accommodating. I would recommend The Parkway for anyone needing treatment at the medical facilities without hesitation.

Our room was nice, and we loved the convenience of the microwave and mini fridge. We used the hotel shuttle to go to Walmart and stock up on drinks and snacks for our nine day stay. The only negative to our room was that the bathroom was showing some wear and tear. The shower rod was starting to fall off as was the one towel rack that was located in the shower. It only took one phone call, however, and these items were fixed the same day. More towel bars would be useful.

Housekeeping for our room was exceptional. I was surprised to see that the hallways were not kept very clean. There were piles of food crumbs outside our door that stayed there for several days. We did not witness this on our previous stay so I think this had something to do with the timing of our visit as our stay encompassed New Year's Eve and the preceding weekend.

I will definitely stay at The Parkway if my daughter requires follow-up visits.

Room Tip: The hotel is between a busy street and a parking garage. We prefer the parking garage so that there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    138
    78
    16
    17
See reviews for
162
66
36
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Doniphan, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for a doctor visit. This was extremely convenient for the doctor visit, as we where from out of town and St. Louis was very unfamiliar to us.

Nice clean place to stay.
Rooms where big and clean.
Beds where comfortable.
Staff was very courteous.
Cookies in lobby where very good.
Internet access is wireless in lobby, but only wired internet access is in room. Speed is very good.
Breakfast wasn't the best, eggs where bland and the biscuits where dry.
Parking in the garage wasn't very convenient, a small amount of walking is involved. (I have handicapped family.) You can pull up to the front door to drop family off though.
They do offer a discounted medical rate.
For the quoted rate, expect at least $20 in taxes and fees to be added to bill upon checkout. This includes a $5 parking fee, city taxes, convention taxes and state taxes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
123 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Adjacent to Barnes-Jewish hospital is the best part! A Barnes patient rate is available, making it a pretty good deal, and much more comfortable than the Barnes Lodge. Quiet and has a fitness center but the breakfast was gone by the time I got down there an hour after it was to start. No complementary fruit or anything in the lobby for guests.

Showers are great, towels are nice, rooms are spacious and beds are comfy. There was a fire drill when I was trying to catch a nap that lasted an hour! There is an inside walkway connecting to the CAM center so that guests dont have to go outside to cross over to CAM. Very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

A very comfortable and friendly hotel, with clean and spacious rooms, a wonderful staff, and reasonable rates. Instead of being charged a mini bar fee, every day snacks and water are in your room at no additional charge. Cookies in the lobby every night, coffee night or day, and a great breakfast each morning. Beds are very comfortable, and walls thick enough so you hear little of the outside and feel like you're the only one in the hotel. A 24 hour shop is in the lobby offering food, drink, and various other items. It was very convenient, and it's open 24 hours a day. A good fitness center, and a good location near the medical center and Washington University.

I'm not in St. Louis often, but if this hotel were in other cities I'd stay there in a minute.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norris City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed there for an extended period because of sickness and having services at the Center for Advanced Medicine. These are wonderful people and have such a caring attitude for their patrons. There is a resturant attached and many more nice places within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gramie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ill
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It is a great place to stay if you have someone in the hosp. at Barnes,Childern, or takeing treatments at the center for adv. med. you can walk inside through hallways to and from the hosp. and the center for adv. med. it is very safe so you can come and go at all hours if you need to. has a hot breakfast, has shuttle around the area, has a TGI Fridays on the property,
the staff are very careing and helpful and will go above and beyond to help in any way, they have computers and fax that you can use in the lobby, also wifi in your room,
Rooms were clean,beds were great, you have a frig, and and micowave,
you are close to zoo,munny,downtown,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bagpackedreadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The location was great - very close to the medical center (attached by walkway) with some nice restaurants in the vicinity.
The room was very nice. It was clean and well decorated with lots of nice touches. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean with a great shower. My room overlooked the street outside but was high enough up to give a nice view and no noise.
The lobby was undergoing a water leak from the attached Applebee's during my stay and the restaurant was temporarily closed, but it was business as usual in the hotel. The breakfast area was somewhat limited in size, but the breakfast was good.
The staff were very friendly and very accommodating and offered a lot of advice on where to go locally.
Overall - a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Central West End
Holiday Inn Express St. Louis Central West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Forest Park
Holiday Inn Forest Park
Holiday Inn Forest Park
#69 of 120 in Saint Louis
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
The Cheshire
#27 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel

Property: The Parkway Hotel
Address: 4550 Forest Park Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63108-2114
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parkway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkway Hotel, only 5 minutes from downtown St. Louis. With 217 guestrooms, they provide the customer service that will always make your stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. As their guest, you will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, popcorn, fresh baked cookies, 24 hour coffee and fresh fruit. The St. Louis Metro Link station is 1 block from the Hotel. It provides inexpensive transportation from Lambert Airport and throughout the city. The Parkway courtesy shuttle is also available. It travels within the Central West End. Sign up for the Parkway shuttle is located at the Parkway's front desk. The Central West End consists of 6 blocks of restaurants and cafe's nestled among art galleries, antique and specialty shops. The Parkway Hotel is adjacent to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Muny, Jewel Box, Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes/Children's Hospital.The Parkway Hotel, the Affordable Luxury Hotel, is the perfect hotel whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing