We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice change of pace from chain hotels”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Parkway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel
Ranked #34 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice change of pace from chain hotels”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, especially considering the price we paid. It is one of the few hotels I've found where I was actually able to get a lower rate through Expedia than through their own website. Even though the Applebee's attached to the hotel had just experienced a water-main break and was closed while we were there, it didn't disrupt our stay in the least. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and well-appointed, and the location is very convenient to hospitals, restaurants, universities and beautiful Forest Park. To top it all off, they offer complementary chocolate chip cookies in the evening, popcorn in the afternoon and breakfast in the morning. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Because it's next to a hospital, we did hear sirens from time to time. While they didn't int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    151
    85
    21
    17
See reviews for
190
73
45
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grinnell
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I drove 5 college students to Mellon-Mayes Foundation Conference @ Washington University. This hotel was our 'homebase'. Conveniently located for the conference and in a great neighborhood/district( Central West End) for walking, exploring,dining,etc. Easy access to the rest of the city- easy drive down to the Arch.
The hotel was very hospitable...really enjoyed the fresh fruit in lobby, popcorn in the afternoon/evenings/the yummy warm chocolate chip cookies..Very unusual to find the FREE treats/snacks in the room! The breakfast every morning was more than adequate and provided a tasty and economical way to start the day.
I especially appreciated the 24 hr fitness area on 7th floor. Wish there was a pool and/or jaccuzzi!!! But can't have everything!
Only disappointment was the closed AppleBee's due to flooding.. but not the hotel's fault and, in actuality, forced me to explore alittle more and , consequently , got to enjoy some of the Central West End's fine restaurant selection .
All in all, a great experience! Thanks..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at about 11:30 am, October 26, to attend a wedding. The hotel was very busy with many people waiting to check in early even though the check-in time was 4:00 pm. To make things worse, there had been a problem the previous night at the adjoining Applebees restaurant resulting in the shutting down of the restroom area in the lobby of the hotel. Given this chaos, the professional and courteous treatment of the hotel guests by Ms. Stephanie Smith was exemplary, even arranging for us to use another hotel room for bathroom facilities. She was also most efficient in getting us checked-in early, giving us a chance to change and prepare for the wedding. Thank you Ms. Smith and staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guru R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had theft of all my jewelry with no assistance from staff. They did not return my 5 phone calls and then accused me of not having a theft since I did not report it to them sooner. I filed a police report and was told it happens regularly. It was taken when I went to breakfast. Extremely poor customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SulleyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
When customers write reviews on this board, we know that not everyone is truthful.
Let us state some facts:
#1. The police would not be able to tell this customer that this happens all of the time because they have never take a report at our hotel regarding theft. How would they know?
#2. The customer claimed to have called 5 times and this is simply not true. The first time the customer called, our staff responded with a full investigation to hopefully find the missing jewelry. When our investigation came up empty we did suggest that they call the police and / or make a claim against their homeowners insurance. This is standard procedure due to the fact that the state of MO law states that “the inn keeper is not responsible for anything left in the room.”
The customer has lost their item and naturally blames the hotel . In the 10 years that we have been opened , we have yet to be blamed for any item missing from a guest room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My organization has held its annual meeting in St. Louis for many years and has found the Parkway to offer the best balance of price and quality in the Central West End. The staff are attentive and helpful; they make conference planning easier and have worked with us to get the details right. The ability to schedule shuttle bus runs in advance is also very useful for a planner. Recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Parkway Hotel. Yes our sales department does a wonderful job of executing successful group meetings and getting all departments heads of the hotel involved and onboard to ensure every detail is met. The Parkway has meeting space if needed and also books rooms only groups. Meeting planners can call our main line and ask for the sales department and our slaes staff will be happy to provide information on how they can make planning an event easy and hassle free. Thank you again for your review and we appreciate your annual business. We look foward to seeing you and your group in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Many of our wedding guests came from abroad to attend our wedding in St. Louis. The Parkway made them feel welcome and pampered. The location was great, the shuttle was an AMAZING feature, and the guests loved the comfort of the homemade cookies at "cookie hour" at 5! They were also happy to have the complimentary hot breakfast and the many restaurant and bar options all with in walking distance.

Many thanks to the Parkway for helping to make our wedding weekend a raving success.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review of the Parkway Hotel. We are very happy to read that you, your family and friends enjoyed all that we have to offer and that you did feel Welcome and Pampered. When going out of town and staying in a hotel this is exactly what should happen and what the Parkway Hotel always wants to accomplish. Along with our many free amenities our location is fantastic with 6 blocks of restaurants, bars, shops, cafe's etc. If you call the hotel sales person that assisted you with your wedding she can tell you how you can earn a complimentary night stay.
Thank you agian for your review and most of all a BIG Congratulations!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My daughter's wedding was this past weekend and had many people coming in from out of town. We had a block of rooms at The Parkway Hotel and I can't tell you how pleased I was! The staff has to be the most accomodating group of people I have ever worked with! Jaci was outstanding helping me with all the reservations. All of our guests loved the hotel and all that was offered. With the free brealkfast, popcorn, cookies and all the extras, nobody went away hungry! The rooms were very comfortable and had everything everybody needed. The shuttle service that was provided was very much appreciated! There is not one thing I would change about our experience with The Parkway! I will always recommend this outstanding hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMcCormick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,056 reviews
The Cheshire
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel

Property: The Parkway Hotel
Address: 4550 Forest Park Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63108-2114
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parkway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkway Hotel, Fully Renovated with a Modern, sleek, upscale look. only 5 minutes from downtown St. Louis. With 217 guestrooms, they provide the customer service that will always make your stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. As their guest, you will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, popcorn, fresh baked cookies, 24 hour coffee and fresh fruit. The St. Louis Metro Link station is 1 block from the Hotel. It provides inexpensive transportation from Lambert Airport and throughout the city. The Parkway courtesy shuttle is also available. It travels within the Central West End. Sign up for the Parkway shuttle is located at the Parkway's front desk. The Central West End consists of 6 blocks of restaurants and cafe's nestled among art galleries, antique and specialty shops. The Parkway Hotel is adjacent to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Muny, Jewel Box, Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes/Children's Hospital, Close to dozens of wedding venues. The Parkway Hotel,is the perfect hotel whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We do not accept pets at this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing