We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of The Parkway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel
Ranked #32 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Vandalia, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Parkway Hotel is located in the Barnes/Jewish Hospital district. The staff was very helpful in every way. Couldn't have any better experience!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    156
    88
    24
    18
See reviews for
206
77
48
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Branson
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel is attached to Barnes Jewish Hospital, so many of its guests are patients going through tests or treatments. The staff is very nice and interested in the well-being of those who end up staying longer term. For this purpose, the hotel is great as you have some sort of comraderie at a difficult time and you can walk through the hotel right into the hospital. However for the money, the hotel is comfortable, but not elegant in any way. If your visit is not specifically to go to Barnes Jewish or you are only going for one day for outpatient procedures there are nicer more elegant hotels on the way into St. Louis for much less money. Next time I would try one of those. There are no amenities usual to a hotel of that cost such as pool, spa, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank branmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Plains, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Parkway has a walk-way from the hotel to Barnes Jewish Hospital. My husband was in the hospital for 3 weeks and I stayed at the hotel. I had good security service. As in my case, because it was medical I got a discount on my room. They have a great breakfast bar. The staff were very helpful in providing extra blankets, towels and wake up calls. We will stay there again, when we have future doctor appointments.

Room Tip: We have stayed on the 3rd floor, 2nd floor, 4th floor, & 6th floor. Our beds have always been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyann234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at The Parkway Hotel so we could take our grandson to Children's Hospital, St. Louis. There is a bridge from the hotel to the hospital so we did not need to go outside to attend our appointments.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Staff was very friendly. Rooms are very clean and location is great with good restaurants within walking distance. Kids loved the warm cookies in the lobby. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew56693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This hotel is located in the community of the Central West End or CWE for short, and is right next to the Center For Advanced Medicine building for Washington University at Barnes Jewish Hospital. The hotel is easily accessible to families of patients at the hospital via a side ramp from the north garage of the medical complex. It has a friendly and accommodating staff, a warm and knowledgeable concierge who can help you sort out the many attractions nearby. CWE is home to several exciting and free attractions like The Art Museum, St. Louis Zoo, and the Museum of Natural History,all contained at the site of a former World's Fair, all offering FREE admission to the public! It is also near the train station, which can take you to other major attractions. The hotel is surrounded, and all within walking distance, by several restaurants, including an Applebees on it's first floor. Accross the hotel is the St Louis Bread Company [--], ( which may be owned by Panera, as it looks very much like one) where one can grab a quick bite. A few paces north of the intersection of Euclid and Forest Park, is an array of restaurants like Tom's Bar and Grill [--], which to my surprise has excellent food served by casual and friendly waitstaff. A few more paces north is the Tortillaria which serves Mexican fare, Oasis Mediterranean Cafe, Wildflower Restaurant [--] which serves good food and a friendly ambiance both in the indoor restaurant, and outdoor patio seating. Then there is the no nonsense, just good food Majestic Restaurant, [--], serving great Greek food. There are other noteworthy eating establishments like Einstein Bagels for coffee, smoothies, sandwiches and other bakery goodies, Chi Sushi and Sake, West End Wok, (Chinese Fast Food) cooked to order then delivered to your table. My favorite is Little Saigon Cafe,(314) 361-8881 serving a wonderful array of Vietnamese as well as other Asian dishes. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Of the 7 days spent in St Louis, I frequented this restaurant 4 days (for lunch, and/or dinner) By my third meal, they welcomed me like family. Other restaurants along Euclid include Rasoi, (Indian cuisine) Qdoba, (Mexican fare) and Pickles Deli.

This hotel is clean, has a good Continental breakfast, (free) it's own shuttle service, free popcorn in the lobby all day, and free, freshly baked cookies between 6 to 9 PM, so don't miss it! They also have special rates for patients and family members of patients at BJC. A few blocks away is The Chase Park Plaza, but for convenience, affordability and great service, this hotel can't be beat! The Parkway Hotel can be reached at [--]. By the way, don't forget to grab a CWE guide available at the lobby, or at the intersection of Euclid and Laclede.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquabb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I needed to visit a very ill friend at Barnes-Jewish Hospital, located across the street. They have a special discounted rate for just such stays, God Bless Them. EVERYONE on the Parkway's staff had the same sort of professionalism and kindness that I was so impressed with over at the Jewish Hospital. I'm an Airline Pilot who has stayed in hotels up to 250 nights a year and THIS property truly impressed me! The Parkway Hotel is a virtual clone of a Hampton Inn, right down to a decent free hot breakfast in the morning with good strong coffee and a nice selection of teas. The ajoining Applebees has great food and fine service. The hotel has a recent renovation, comfortable beds, good showers with curved shower rods, marble counters, lots of towels, etc. Give it a try and enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YODABYRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chase Park Plaza
#40 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,102 reviews
The Cheshire
#42 of 120 in Saint Louis
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel

Property: The Parkway Hotel
Address: 4550 Forest Park Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63108-2114
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parkway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkway Hotel, Fully Renovated with a Modern, sleek, upscale look. only 5 minutes from downtown St. Louis. With 217 guestrooms, they provide the customer service that will always make your stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. As their guest, you will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, popcorn, fresh baked cookies, 24 hour coffee and fresh fruit. The St. Louis Metro Link station is 1 block from the Hotel. It provides inexpensive transportation from Lambert Airport and throughout the city. The Parkway courtesy shuttle is also available. It travels within the Central West End. Sign up for the Parkway shuttle is located at the Parkway's front desk. The Central West End consists of 6 blocks of restaurants and cafe's nestled among art galleries, antique and specialty shops. The Parkway Hotel is adjacent to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Muny, Jewel Box, Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes/Children's Hospital, Close to dozens of wedding venues. The Parkway Hotel,is the perfect hotel whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We do not accept pets at this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing