We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the hospital”
Review of The Parkway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel
Ranked #30 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close to the hospital”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at The Parkway Hotel so we could take our grandson to Children's Hospital, St. Louis. There is a bridge from the hotel to the hospital so we did not need to go outside to attend our appointments.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    158
    88
    24
    18
See reviews for
210
78
48
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Staff was very friendly. Rooms are very clean and location is great with good restaurants within walking distance. Kids loved the warm cookies in the lobby. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew56693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This hotel is located in the community of the Central West End or CWE for short, and is right next to the Center For Advanced Medicine building for Washington University at Barnes Jewish Hospital. The hotel is easily accessible to families of patients at the hospital via a side ramp from the north garage of the medical complex. It has a friendly and accommodating staff, a warm and knowledgeable concierge who can help you sort out the many attractions nearby. CWE is home to several exciting and free attractions like The Art Museum, St. Louis Zoo, and the Museum of Natural History,all contained at the site of a former World's Fair, all offering FREE admission to the public! It is also near the train station, which can take you to other major attractions. The hotel is surrounded, and all within walking distance, by several restaurants, including an Applebees on it's first floor. Accross the hotel is the St Louis Bread Company [--], ( which may be owned by Panera, as it looks very much like one) where one can grab a quick bite. A few paces north of the intersection of Euclid and Forest Park, is an array of restaurants like Tom's Bar and Grill [--], which to my surprise has excellent food served by casual and friendly waitstaff. A few more paces north is the Tortillaria which serves Mexican fare, Oasis Mediterranean Cafe, Wildflower Restaurant [--] which serves good food and a friendly ambiance both in the indoor restaurant, and outdoor patio seating. Then there is the no nonsense, just good food Majestic Restaurant, [--], serving great Greek food. There are other noteworthy eating establishments like Einstein Bagels for coffee, smoothies, sandwiches and other bakery goodies, Chi Sushi and Sake, West End Wok, (Chinese Fast Food) cooked to order then delivered to your table. My favorite is Little Saigon Cafe,(314) 361-8881 serving a wonderful array of Vietnamese as well as other Asian dishes. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Of the 7 days spent in St Louis, I frequented this restaurant 4 days (for lunch, and/or dinner) By my third meal, they welcomed me like family. Other restaurants along Euclid include Rasoi, (Indian cuisine) Qdoba, (Mexican fare) and Pickles Deli.

This hotel is clean, has a good Continental breakfast, (free) it's own shuttle service, free popcorn in the lobby all day, and free, freshly baked cookies between 6 to 9 PM, so don't miss it! They also have special rates for patients and family members of patients at BJC. A few blocks away is The Chase Park Plaza, but for convenience, affordability and great service, this hotel can't be beat! The Parkway Hotel can be reached at [--]. By the way, don't forget to grab a CWE guide available at the lobby, or at the intersection of Euclid and Laclede.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquabb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I needed to visit a very ill friend at Barnes-Jewish Hospital, located across the street. They have a special discounted rate for just such stays, God Bless Them. EVERYONE on the Parkway's staff had the same sort of professionalism and kindness that I was so impressed with over at the Jewish Hospital. I'm an Airline Pilot who has stayed in hotels up to 250 nights a year and THIS property truly impressed me! The Parkway Hotel is a virtual clone of a Hampton Inn, right down to a decent free hot breakfast in the morning with good strong coffee and a nice selection of teas. The ajoining Applebees has great food and fine service. The hotel has a recent renovation, comfortable beds, good showers with curved shower rods, marble counters, lots of towels, etc. Give it a try and enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YODABYRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The hotel is in a great location on the Central West Side. Real good restaurants nearby. Metro stop a block away. The room was real nice and everything was in working order. Internet was free and there was a cable in the room. Wireless only in the lobby. Great views from our room. Front desk was excellent!

Breakfast was a disappointment. I have stayed here before several times and major cutbacks have been made. Kept running out of food. The last day, there were biscuits and no sausage gravy. No meats. No bananas. No eggs. There were oranges and apples in another part of the lobby. They used to have bottles of water and small boxes of milk. No longer. Just these huge pitchers which are awkward to pour.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

The rooms have the amenities typical of most business-class hotels: iron, mini-fridge, all the bathroom stuff, etc. There was a carcass of a dead bird just outside our window; it had obviously been there for quite a while. The room showed a bit of need of minor repairs, but was generally pleasant.

The low point was the breakfast. They had these pre-fab eggs in circles as though chickens had been replaced by factories. That is, they had them from time to time. The breakfast buffet was forever running out of things and not being kept stocked. One day I decided to give up on the hot breakfast (no eggs and microscopic bacon crumbs) and poured a bowl of cereal--only to discover that the milk was all gone. Better hotels stay on top of this and keep things stocked before they run empty.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDude95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Vernon Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Since we live several hours away, when my husband was flown to St Louis Barnes Jewish hospital I was concerned about the commute. I altered between driving home and staying here for 10 days. A few minor flaws were handled perfectly-I was given a new room because of a running toilet, I was too early for breakfast and was brought out food early, and my confusion over security was handled very well. Yes, the rooms are plain, but they were more than adequate for my needs.
I should note that family members of long term hospital patients and even staff are given a better price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annnbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
962 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel

Property: The Parkway Hotel
Address: 4550 Forest Park Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63108-2114
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parkway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkway Hotel, Fully Renovated with a Modern, sleek, upscale look. only 5 minutes from downtown St. Louis. With 217 guestrooms, they provide the customer service that will always make your stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. As their guest, you will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, popcorn, fresh baked cookies, 24 hour coffee and fresh fruit. The St. Louis Metro Link station is 1 block from the Hotel. It provides inexpensive transportation from Lambert Airport and throughout the city. The Parkway courtesy shuttle is also available. It travels within the Central West End. Sign up for the Parkway shuttle is located at the Parkway's front desk. The Central West End consists of 6 blocks of restaurants and cafe's nestled among art galleries, antique and specialty shops. The Parkway Hotel is adjacent to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Muny, Jewel Box, Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes/Children's Hospital, Close to dozens of wedding venues. The Parkway Hotel,is the perfect hotel whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We do not accept pets at this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing