We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmemorable Italian”

Lombardo's Restaurant
Ranked #325 of 2,888 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unmemorable Italian”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Been here twice for convenience sake. Food is ok but definitely better choices for real Italian food elsewhere of you have a car.

Oysters on the half shell were very fresh and quite good. Party of 5 liked their entrees. If you are confined to the airport location, it's a meal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    55
    46
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Service is excellent and the food is good even the liver”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you are stuck out by Lambert Airport you couldn't ask for a better oasis. The service is very good, the food is above average and the have an excellent and affordable wine list. At the chance of turning off about 75% of the people, I'll tell you they have probably the best "calf's liver" in St. Louis (since Portabello's went out of business). They have people travel to this airport restaurant for this fare. They have very good veal (I had the Veal Parmigano) and people say the steaks are good too. They have a number of wines by the glass and a very reasonable wine list by the bottle. You don't have to put up with the airport hotel fare when you are only a few hundred feet to this gem.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod_CFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E. St. Louie
Level Contributor
202 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good service, okay food”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We ate here while staying at the Hilton airport hotel as the hotel shuttle took us to this location.
The service was very good but the food was just okay. They have been in business since 1934 (not at this location) and were very friendly.
The food was okay: a very good small salad, we each had a chicken entree, and a small side of pasta.
Good bread and excellent olive oil and cheese provided for dipping.
The chicken entree were a breast pounded flat. I thought too flat and mine was overcooked and dry but my wife's was okay. The pasta side was very average: bow-tie pasta with marinara sauce.
I thought the place was a little over-priced for what you received. There are many other Italian restaurants in St. Louis that are a lot better but none close to the airport. If you are staying at an airport hotel, it is an okay choice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EStLouiesmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
309 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Convenient for airport, but just average fare”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I don't know, maybe Italian food isn't a strong point in St. Louis, but for all the reviews and hype, we found Lombardo's pretty pedestrian. Granted, it is right in the parking lot for the Drury Inn so it is super convenient if you are staying there. But the food just seemed average at best (but with an above-average price).

It's probably sacrilege to say, but a chain restaurant like the Macaroni Grill (but not Olive Garden) has better food.

The service was professional and they whipped up a pizza for our nine-year-old so that was nice. But, overall, kind of disappointing. Perhaps the downtown one is better.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoyoteIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I love this place. I actually prefer it to the downtown location. The waitstaff is second to none, and I've never had a bad meal - or even a bad bite of someone else's meal there. It's pricey, yes, but I think it's worth every penny. Do yourself a favor and try the saltimboca. Sooo good.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gpd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lombardo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lombardo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing