We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food for the long wait.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roper's Ribs

Roper's Ribs
Ranked #185 of 2,875 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average food for the long wait.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Mom & Pop place with limited menu. No space to eat the tables were filled with those waiting to take food to go, so don't plan on dining in. We got the super rib tip which was abt 2lb of tips would feed approx. 2 1/2 hungry ppl. It came with a small potato salad not enough to share. Tips were good and very saucy but nothing more. I just don't understand the wait. I know the ribs pre-cooked, but 30 mins to heat in sauce? Just kinda odd, IMO, but if you are in the area give it a try, just have a time to wait. If u have time to call ahead by all means save yourself some time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank down2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    18
    17
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
memphis
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I decided to drive over to Ropers Ribs from our hotel to get BBQ for dinner. I read the reviews that there are only a few tables to eat on and they were taken by customers waiting on takeouts. I counted 3 tables in the extra small room. There was a six feet tall counter where you place your order. I was greeted warmly. I ordered the trio ($20) bargain which consists of half slab of St.Louis ribs, half chicken, and riblets. I ask the clerk to wrap the half chicken separate in foil for traveling. My request was denied to wrap the half chicken in foil for traveling by the clerk and the owner came to the window and told me they could not do it but she would give me foil and i could wrap it myself.!!!I I explain to her that I didnt plan to eat the chicken tonight but had a cooler to put it in. The owner still refused so i took the foil and wrapped it myself at the hotel. Anyway, the ribs were tender with plenty of BBQ sauce on it. The ribs tasted as though the had been boiled first and oven cook. No taste of charcoal or hickory flavor. This explain why the grill out back was not being used and was cold. The sauce had little or no flavor at all. Very bland bbq sauce and no taste of any rub on the ribs. Overall, tender ribs without any season or flavor including the sauce. The riblets were the same as ribs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MemphisJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finger licking good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to take a road trip to St Louis from WI. The first place we stopped at was Roper's Ribs and man was it the best decision we made. We wanted the best bbq amd we found it! The meat were fall off the bone good and the scrimp was huge! Its a small place that you will prob miss if you aren't looking for it. Its hot inside but the owners are such nice people and they have pictures of famous ppl like steve harvey who love their food. Hands down the best bbq in the nation!!!!! Don't take my word for it try it yourself you won't be disappointed

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank medrano78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must stop St. Louis BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Heard about, had to stop. 2nd best in the country. Everything was good. Brisket and ribs are perfect. Very smokey. When you see a line out the door and police cars in front, those are two great signs you found a winner. It hit the mark as the best in St. Louis.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bcul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Best Pulled Pork Sandwich Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Coming from Carolina for 10 years and KC 8 years (and eating a lot of bbq) I can honestly say this is the 2nd best bbq place I've ever eaten, 2nd only to OK Joes, and had I tried other dishes it may have even surpassed this. My girlfriend and I ate a beef brisket sandwich and a pulled pork sandwich. The brisket was quite good, delicious sauce, but the pulled pork was the best I've ever had, and the staff was incredibly charming & sweet to us. I'll recommend to anyone in St. Louis

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Griffen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roper's Ribs also viewed

University City, Saint Louis
 

Been to Roper's Ribs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing