We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”
Review of Roper's Ribs

Roper's Ribs
Ranked #183 of 2,900 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Bokeelia, Florida
1 review
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My partner and I were in St. Louis on a business trip and wanted a taste of the local flavor. We found Roper's through Google and were delighted with the people (Carl Roper and family) as well as the local patrons who chatted with us. The food was incredible. We tried a mixture of fried shrimp, baby back ribs, the beef brisket and pulled pork for lunch. We left with enough food for the evening since the portions were enough to feed at least four people. M favorite was the shrimp, or the pulled pork, or the brisket, or the ribs...If you go there, go hungry!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    18
    17
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you want the best St. Louis style ribs, this is your place”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Get your hand wipes ready, because this meal is about to get messy.
All of the food is hand-prepared at this family-owned and -operated St. Louis landmark. You can't find better service, value, and scrumptiousness than you will at Roper's Ribs. You have to enjoy their ribs - they fall right off the bone. The sauces are cooked to perfection.
Make the short drive up to Roper's Ribs. You'll soon be telling all of your friends about it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ribs in Saint Louie”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Oh you didn't know? Me neither. Walked in not knowing what to expect and the line was out the door. We were about to leave, but everybody said it was worth the wait. We shared a full slab and some brisket. Some of the best bbq I ever had. If you're in St. Louis, it's worth your time to head north and stop by Ropers. Just looking to help out my fellow D-O-Double G's out there.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roaddogg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ribs so good you'll slap your grandmother”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I'm not much of a religious man, but when I bit into Roper's Ribs Beef Brisket I swear I saw a glimpse of heaven. If you were to ask me for a recommendation for what to order here, I would just point to the menu and say, "Take your pick!" You will not be disappointed with any selection you make. Carl Roper wasn't lying when he said Roper's had the best BBQ in the Universe and there is no alien technology out there that could compete.

When you walk into the store you are greeted by one of the Ropers and even during the busiest season you can expect to be treated like you were a long lost friend. The wait for the food is excruciatingly delightful. You will wait a little bit for the food but that should be expected with the quality of food you are about to feast on. It is considered an insult to use napkins because that would be a waste of Roper's Ribs deliciously sweet and tangy sauce. Clean your fingers the old fashioned way and get another taste of that sauce.

You will leave satisfied and smelling delicious. Many other reviewers have complained about the neighborhood, but I have been here around a dozen times without any incidents.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
“Best BBQ in the Country”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Roper's Ribs is AMAZING. The staff is super friendly, very family-like, and the food is spectacular! I'm a frequent visiter -- no one can reproduce what the Ropers have there!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CWPhotoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roper's Ribs also viewed

University City, Saint Louis
 
Saint Louis, MO
Saint Louis, MO
 
Maryland Heights, Saint Louis
 

Been to Roper's Ribs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing