We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and atmosphere, slow service”

1860's Hard Shell Cafe and Bar
Ranked #665 of 2,926 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Cuisines: Seafood
Neighborhood: Soulard
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Soulard
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere, slow service”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had oysters, buffalo chicken wrap, fried chicken, and a seafood plate (can't remember what exactly that one was) on a Sunday evening. The food was great, the beer was cold, and it was nice to have music coming in from the bar side but not be bombarded by it on the cafe side. We could actually have a conversation with background music, it was nice. However there were not many people there and the service was still sloooow. I honestly don't know how long oysters take to make though, maybe that was why, I'm not sure. In any case, I give the place a 3, but still fully intend on returning!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank car t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you can overlook bad service, you need to come here...”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The food is incredible. The crab cakes at 1860's are the best crab cakes I've ever had in St. Louis. I'm sure ones in Maine are better, but in the Midwest we have to take what we can get. These ones are awesome. They're nice and big and spiced to perfection. The po'boys are tasty as well. The buffalo chicken pizza is alright; you can find better elsewhere.

As far as service goes, this place is lacking majorly. I think there is only one server ever in the entire place. It takes quite awhile for someone to get to you when you need something. The food though is excellent and if you can overlook the poor service you definitely need to try 1860's. They have wonderful Cajun food and an awesome giant jester in the dining room.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LifeofLauren2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, very good value, service a downside”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The food at our table---most had fish & chips, burgers or crab cakes---was tasty to delicious, not one single complaint about the food at all, was a good value for money spent, but service brought total rating down. Waitress was nice but inattentive, had to go to the bar to get a drink refill, and silverware was delivered well after the food was. But the food was tasty enough I'd not turn down an offer to go eat there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great southern grill”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had the seafood gumbe Cajun style with shrimp, surimi crab, andouille sausage and vegetables. Spiced just right and very affordable. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOHN1946AIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Stop here if you are near.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We happened upon this place while looking for a different place. We decided to stop and try it out. There is a sign on the door that said minors not allowed so we turned around since our 5 year old was with us. Someone stopped us and said that the back game room was child friendly so we tried it. We were the only ones in there and had the undivided attention of the bartender. The chicken strips were excellent and I had a great catfish po boy. I highly recommend it. Very good food and very friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matryd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1860's Hard Shell Cafe and Bar also viewed

 

Been to 1860's Hard Shell Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing