We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing toasted ravioli”

Lombardo's Trattoria
Reserve with OpenTable
Lombardo's Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 2,901 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Block South of Market
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing toasted ravioli”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Toasted ravioli is a "thing" in St. Louis, and Lombardo's was rumored to have some of the best. So when I was in town for the first time, I stopped in. The atmosphere was great; fairly empty at 430pm but the staff was incredibly friendly and nice. I guess Lombardo's is close to the Blues' home rink, so a lot of people were there before the Blues game.

The toasted ravioli was as advertised - huge ravioli filled with meat and cheese, toasted to perfection and served with delicious marinara sauce. The portion was huge! Definitely the best ravioli I've had and well worth a trip to find Lombardo's.

I had the chicken parm for dinner and it was very good, but not otherwordly. The desserts sounded really good, but I was too full. If I could do it again, I'd probably just go for the ravioli and some dessert.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfranco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    65
    29
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poplar Bluff, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You must try the flash fried spinach!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Tried this place for dinner since it is near the Doubletree, where we were staying. Waiter was great! Food was great!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missouri-gal-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
160 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent toasted ravioli ”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

As we were traveling to a football game we wanted to try the toasted ravioli. We stayed at hotel at airport and found a Lombardos near us. The service was pleasant and attentive. Since it was late in the evening I chose the toasted ravioli and the eggplant special. My husband had veal. Both were pretty good, not great. A friend with us ordered lasagna, the portion was extremely generous. The restaurant is pricey however the portions were large. The toasted ravioli was by far the best dish. Don't miss this treat!


I and the eggplant special. evening I chose the toasted ravioli Nd

Helpful?
Thank gabahatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great service, honest food”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Sceptical on first appearance but warm welcome and consistently wonderful customer service soon smoothed that. Excellently priced wine, a very good filet mignon and a nice tiramisu later I was a very contented customer. Service throughout friendly, helpful and superb.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Average for me, but maybe it will be better for you”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Lombardo's Trattoria was known as a higher end restaurant when i was staying at the hotel in Union Station. So my expectations were high when walking over to the restaurant from the Doubletree. When you walk up to the restaurant it doesn't look like much except for a sign that you see outside the building, but when you walk in you have the white table cloths and an old world feel to it. So that was a pleasant surprise.

The food itself had good flavor, the bread at the table was served warm, and the service was good even for sitting at the bar. The reason i wouldn't come back is just because there wasn't any "wow" factor. I ordered the healthy pasta dish, so that right there could've been part of the problem to select a healthy dish at an Italian restaurant. I just felt like Trattoria didn't have much to differentiate themselves from other Italian restaurants, so i'll try other places in town to see if they have a different experience. I would definitely say give this spot at least one try and see what you think for yourself before ruling it out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixRising7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lombardo's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing