We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOMBARDO'S DOWNTOWN”

Lombardo's Trattoria
Reserve with OpenTable
Lombardo's Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 2,880 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Block South of Market
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“LOMBARDO'S DOWNTOWN”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have been going to Lombardo's for 25 years. The Veal Saltimbocca is the best in the world. I mean that literally. I ordered it in Rome and it doesn't compare to Lombardo's. Start with the Flash Fried Spinach, add a Caesar Salad and a bottle of wine and it is heaven.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhw317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    62
    29
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
319 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had dinner at Lombardo's Trattoria before the Paul McCartney concert this past Sunday night at the Scottrade Center (5 minute walk from Lombardo's). So glad that we made reservations because the restaurant was packed and the wait time was well over an hour when we got there. The simple and straightforward menu appealed to everyone in our family between the pasta and steak/seafood dishes. My wife had the Chicken Gorgonzola and it was delicious. I had the Tenderloin house special which was equally good. My kids had filets and both were cooked just right and very tender. Our waiter provided excellent service throughout the meal and was very gracious. To top it off, we asked the manager about leaving our car with their valet parking, and he recommended to just get our keys from the valet since it was hard to tell when the concert would be over. So for just a reasonable valet parking tip, we got great parking for the concert as well. If you are going to a concert at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, a pre-concert dinner at Lombardo's -- WITH a reservation -- is highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich_Holden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent Italian in a hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate here on a Saturday night when there was a pretty big event going on at the Union Station next door. As such, the restaurant was filled with groups, as opposed to couples, so it was really loud.

The food was all acceptable. We really liked the flash fried spinach and the house salads were excellent. For entrees, we had Veal Saltimbocca and Chicken Gorgonzola. The sauces and recipes for both were very good, but both meats were overcooked a bit and a little dry. The accompanying pasta dishes were pretty heavy on the garlic, and I'm not the biggest garlic fan. Prices weren't cheap, but the salad was included.

Our server (Ellis) was excellent and the staff all seemed professional and friendly. It's a good place to go with your kids and get a pretty good meal. No idea if they have a kids menu, but I'd bet they do.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TTTStLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
152 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We just had dinner at Lombardo's in St. Louis. It's in the basement of a historic building that is now a Drury Inn. I'm not sure about the value since I was with a group and someone else paid, but the food was very good. Try the fried ravioli appetizer. Bar drinks were great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tnpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lombardos...We Always Have an A1 Experience.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Whenever I ask my wife where she would like to go for a nice, memorable dinner evening, she says Lombardo's. Members of my family have been coming to Lombardo's since they had the original location ion Riverview in North St. Louis...and we have never been disappointed. Tony Lombardo and his long-time manager, David, are awesome at providing a nice VIP touch whenever we go.

The food is always exceptional....especially the toasted ravs...the wine list is excellent...and the ambience is perfect for a "date night" or for a group. Nice way to end the night there is with an after dinner drink in their bar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimKi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lombardo's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing