We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Louis Classic!”
Review of Talayna's Restaurant - CLOSED

Talayna's Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: Skinker DeBaliviere
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Skinker DeBaliviere
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“St Louis Classic!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

You can't beat the pizza, salad, and tossed ravioli. Vintage St Loius. Not exactly heart healthy- but hey it's St Louis! I miss the old location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarvis.lambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Genuine St. Louis Landmark”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Talayna's opened in the 1960's across from Washington U and prospered there for decades with some rather wild decor (statues and stained glass) acquired from several churches. It was a favorite hangout for the local neighborhood as well as the university crowd. The restaurant moved to its current location some years ago and is easily accessible from Metrolink. The pizza is traditional St. Louis -- thin crust with the local Provel cheese although traditional mozzarella is available on request. The cheese garlic bread is as good as it was 40 years ago and the salads are legendary. Prices are very competitive and the service is friendly. The neighborhood is a little rough, but plenty of lighted parking is available on their lot in front of the door. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GameOpsPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I don't get it.....”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This place is not in a safe area, it is completely dirty, and not just like it needs a good moping, it needs a lot of cleaning. The food was greasy and tasteless. I can't believe the other reviews were so good, that was the only reason we didn't walk out. If you are a teenager/college kid - fine, I'm sure you don't really care.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Living_n_KW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best St Louis style Pizza”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Italian food. Get the toasted ravioli, it is a local treat! NOTE: The portions here are large. The St Louis style pizza is extremely thin, cracker like crust, toppings spread to the edge, with a 5 cheese blend. You can get pure mozzarella, or provel cheese on request. This is the best place in town to get it.
Ordered a "lunch size" Lasagna. It was enough for 2 people. Tart sauce, not sweet. Very good.
The restaurant needs a little updating and was having air conditioning issues.
The waiter, I think he was also the manager on duty, let us sit in the back room, where the a/c was cool. The service was excellent. Even gave us a sample of their hand tossed NY style pizza.
Restaurant is located across the street from Forest Park and the History Museum.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jalaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Best Toasted Ravioli in St. Louis”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Talayna's is near our home, and we get coupons in our community mailer, so we have gone a few times. The Toasted Ravs alone are worth the visit. But the pizza is also a high quality, although I would tell you to stick with pepperoni or sausage - don't go for the specialities.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doctimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talayna's Restaurant also viewed

 
Maplewood, Saint Louis
Ladue, Saint Louis
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing