We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over and Above Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trattoria Marcella

Trattoria Marcella
Ranked #35 of 2,880 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Lindenwood Park
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Over and Above Expectations”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

After a long day of sightseeing we were hot, tired and hungry so we arrived at the restaurant before it opened. We sat outside in the shade and a waiter came out and offered us some ice water. We were the first two customers but the place soon became busy. Our waiter, Joseph, was excellent. Since it was our first time in St. Louis, he walked us through some specials on the menu. We had the toasted ravioli for an appetizer. It certainly lived up to our expectations. I ordered the Osso Buco and was amazed at the serving size and the price. We would have paid twice the price if ordered in Texas. My spouse had the gnocchi special and could not finish the serving, which says a lot about the portions. Over all, it was one of the best meals we had in our two weeks of traveling.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgetown78626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    49
    20
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just go. What more do you want in a restaurant?”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just had a wonderful experience. Good food, good service, good atmosphere and good value. No issues. Trattoria Marcella just "has it down". They make it look easy. I do not hesitate in recommending this restaurant. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Websterwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson CIty, MO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We try to come to Trattoria Marcella whenever we have a special event in St. Louis. There were 10 in our group and I had made reservations for 7:45. We were finally seated at 8:30. Not the restaurant's fault -- we understood being a large group on a Saturday night was risky. But it was worth it! In fact, the manager came to our table after we were seated, apologized profusely and brought some toasted raviolis, on the house. Those were the best ravs I have ever had! Big, filled full of the meat stuffing, yet tender. Our dinner was fabulous, I always recommend the Carta di Musica as appetizer, as well as the carpaccio. Our friends all loved it, said it was fabulous! After eating in Italy, this is pretty darn close to what we had over there. I would, however, recommend that if you are a large group, either get there earlier in the evening or come on a week day. It's that popular!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonesmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breese, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crazy Busy”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We went on a saturday night, so the bar/waiting area was packed. However we were still seated relatively quickly since we had reservations. Everyone enjoyed their meals, but all agreed the Grilled Lamb Rib Chops were the favorite.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MGW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the Best in a City with Many "Best" Italian Restaurants”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

St. Louis, Missouri, is a well kept culinary secret. The city has many wonderful restaurants including an enclave on and surrounding an area known as "The Hill". The Hill was initially settled by Italian immigrants working the clay mines there (now gone). Their heritage is plentiful in the area and many descendants, food purveyors and restaurants mark the area. One of my favorites within the area is the Trattoria Marcella owned by two brothers that work the restaurant either greeting patrons or cooking. This is gourmet folks. Prepare your taste buds for the both the standard Italian dishes or artfully prepared experimental, gourmet dishes. Weekends are normally long waits so if you can go during the week do so.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodymaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Marcella also viewed

Clayton, Saint Louis
 
Richmond Heights, Saint Louis
 

Been to Trattoria Marcella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing