We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick and Cheap Food”
Review of Courtesy Diner

Courtesy Diner
Ranked #614 of 2,890 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
176 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quick and Cheap Food”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Went here before St. Patty's day got started in Dogtown for a quick breakfast. This diner never disappoints, be it 9:00 A.M. or 2:00 A.M. It's cash only, there is an ATM available and a jukebox! The servers are very friendly and the food is quite tasty. It's also a great value, I think my meal was only around $4.00 and it came with a decent portion of scrambled eggs with cheese, hash browns, and toast. It's a cool old fashioned diner that's worth repeating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cryptic_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    7
    0
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
384 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“It's a Diner, Tony's it Ain't!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Ok, O.T. Hodges may no longer be with us, so I have been roaming the streets looking for a decent "slinger." While the Chili is not nearly as good as O.T's, Courtesy does a damn fine job of putting a Slinger together correctly, fast and at a really cheap price. For the uninitiated, a slinger is a burger, hash browns, with two eggs on top covered with Chili, raw onions and shredded cheese. It has to be served piping hot, and the spicier the better.

We went last night, my better half (obviously, since she ate a cheese omelet) was not crazy about a diner for dinner, but she has put up with my nonsense and let me splurge.

What can I say, five star it ain't, but it is exactly what I wanted and they delivered the food fast and good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great local diner”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

When I travel, I try to avoid chain restaurants at all costs. Actually, I do that in general, but specially when I'm in a new place.
Courtesy Diner is local, small, and has great food. It's cash only, so be advised. If I remember correctly, there was an ATM inside. Great value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank begutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little known out of the way”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Seek this place out! Great breakfast, perfectly cooked, hot, great people running the place and server treated us like we were her only customers!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katlpga01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A little bit of New Jersey in Missouri”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Being from New Jersey I was thrilled to find this place at a friends suggestion. Food is awesome and the prices are just as awesome. Plenty of menu items in a small cozy diner, you can even eat at the counter, just like at home.

My only complaint is that they do not accept credit cards. Disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Courtesy Diner also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Courtesy Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing