We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar food”
Review of O'Connell's Pub

O'Connell's Pub
Ranked #255 of 2,901 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
st louis mo
Level Contributor
233 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great bar food”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Twice a year I have to make a trip to O'Connell's for a burger and a beer. The place competes with Blueberry Hill for the best burgers in St. Louis. The place is filled with local locals and tourists enjoying great food in a cozy environment.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jb230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    67
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great roast beef - Great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Having graduated from St. Louis University the 80's, what a treat it was to go back and visit St. Louis last weekend and find my favorite Pub just as great as I remembered it. They are known for the oversize, tender hamburgers but my favorite is the roast beef sandwiches. The bread is outstanding and soft, deep fried mushrooms and a cold Bud product...to die for! I always order medium rare and you can watch them slice it and pile high on the bread......great specials daily. I love going to "The Hill"....Italian restaurants are great and abundant,,,but this Irish gem on the edge of the neighboorhodd is my favorite....I only wish they allowed carry-outs so I could haul some home. The pub is a bit dark and old wood all around. Big wooden booths, tables large enough to sit near another party and talk,,,,love it. Keep up the good work !

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkelly1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The earlier in the week, the more rare the roast beast.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Don't ask for lettuce and tomato--it's not that kind of place-great hamburgers, cooked to order and marvelous roast beef on french bread. Salads are served with turkey or salami and are simple but cold and crunchy. We have eaten here since it wasn't here but down on the late lamented Gaslight Square. it is part of our family's life.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PastorPrime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about...”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Maybe it's coming from Chicago but really the food and drink is average pub food...and they dont get creative with the burgers.

The true benefit is being close to the botanical gardens and of average price as opposed to exhorbitant

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DigitalNomadIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Still the Same, and the Same is a Good Thing”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you want a classic place to have a burger (or the roast beef) and a cold one or two, this is your place. Rustic old world pub atmosphere. You will come back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S11L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Connell's Pub also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to O'Connell's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing