We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tapas”

Modesto Tapas Bar and Restaurant
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: The Hill
Cross street: Edwards
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
139 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

In the middle of marinara heaven sits Modesto which is a great change of pace from the heavier italian places that surround it. The food is good and the Sangria is even better.

Helpful?
Thank Jason1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    31
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land Texas
Level Contributor
268 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fine Tapas Place in Italian Restautant Area”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We were in St. Louis to attend meetings and met some friends for dinner. We drove to "The Hill" to have Italian food but decided to give this place a try. We had several dishes. The cauliflower in truffle oil and the green beans dish were outstanding. We split a paella dish which was not traditional in that it did not appear to have saffron, but it was very good. My wife is allergic to mussels so she had a shrimp/octopus dish which was good. We split a salad and a dessert and they were above average. Our waitress was efficient and attentive. We were there on a Monday evening and the crowd was moderate but all seemed to have a good time. The wine list was small but authenic and I was very pleased with my selection. Like most tapas places I have been, the cost is no cheaper than a traditional meal but the variety of choices make it just as good a value.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
361 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Feels like being back in Spain”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

outstanding selection of tapas, very tasty food, good variety of wines by glass and/or bottle. very attentive service, yet not obtrusive. reservations are a must for weekend evenings. save room for dessert!!! a surprising gem in the Italian neighborhhod known as The Hill.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“If in STL and you wanted a nice meal (anniversary, etc), this is where I would send you”
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Others have already sung the praises of the food here, so I'll just add my voice to the chorus. I Live here in St Louis and have tried the usual suspects for the best restaurant/fine dining crown in the city (I'm looking at you, Sidney Street Cafe and Niche). Yet if someone asked me for my recommendation on where to go if they wanted one special meal (say, a birthday or anniversary), Modesto is where I would send them without hesitation. First of all, their food is far more consistent than the other places, which seem to be hit or miss. Secondly, because their food isn't nearly as pretentsious as the other spots - none of the trendy gourmand fads here, just good food.

Third, because when you go out you want to get something memorable - I can tell you from experience that I don't recall a single item I ate at Sidney St Cafe or Niche, but I can tell you all about the arroz negro (black rice with lobster, calamari and aioli) I had for our anniversary 2 years ago and loved. Or for that matter, the Dátiles Rellenos (bacon-wrapped dates stuffed with Cabrales cheese) that we had that both of us thought was good but not great. To me, a restaurant that gives you a meal you still talk about 2 years later is the one I want.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank glenn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Romantic and exciting!”
Reviewed December 7, 2010

This is a very special place with great drinks, exciting, unique food, and a romantic atmosphere. The street view is very pleasant and quaint. The tapas, although not necessarily traditional, reflect the chef's own unique style. Each dish is intelligently, and often creatively conceived. A fun eating adventure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pacyabags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modesto Tapas Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing