We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lemon Chicken on the Hill.”

Gian-tony's On the Hill
Ranked #108 of 2,926 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: The Hill
Alton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Lemon Chicken on the Hill.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Wonderful food, great atmosphere, excellent service. They are more than helpful making sure that your dining experience is the best. One of our most favorite places to dine.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FWL5346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    68
    25
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Italian food of course.”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

You expect to eat great Italian food when you come to "The Hill" in St. Louis. There are so many great Italian restaurants in that area, it's hard to decide which one you want to experience. I dedided to try Gian-Tony's because, to me, it's not as well known as some of the others like Cunetto, Zia's or Favazza's. Well, I'm glad I gave it a try because it was a great meal. The service was very good, the food tasted great, and we were well taken care of while every table was filled. We were even asked if we would adjourn to the bar for a free drink so that our table could be used by a waiting customer. No problem. In summary, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“overcooked”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nice restaurant in the Italian section of town. Salad was very good. Pasta was overcooked. Veal was overcooked. Rotolini had too much cheese. Service was average. Overall nothing special.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpatter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Yummmy”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I live in St. Louis and have eaten here many times. The waiters are always friendly and fast. Once i found my favorite dish I get it every time: the Lobster Capriccio, but I substitute chicken for the lobster----LOVE IT. Items are definitely on the pricier side but it is so delicious! I have gone her for both casual and upscale dining. Consistent every time. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuraVida85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Delicious and Authentic”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

You have to experience Gian-Tony's on the hill for authentic and delicious Italian food. It has a smallish bar and intimate dining rooms. They have redocorated since our last visit and it is charming. Our waiter was very helpful and the portions are huge. It is truly an experience. We started with a party of 4 and one late comer made it 5. It was no problem and they welcomed the extra diner and gave us a great dining experience. I had one of the specials that had diver scallops and it was to die for!! What a wonderful way to spend my birthday with family from the St. Louis area. Will go back again, for sure!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank blonde1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gian-tony's On the Hill also viewed

 

Been to Gian-tony's On the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing