We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!”
Review of LoRusso's Cucina

LoRusso's Cucina
Ranked #191 of 2,946 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lindenwood Park
Reviewed July 16, 2014

i'm at LoRusso's at least once a month and have always had an amazing meal. I would recommend them to anyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cucinaman, Owner at LoRusso's Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hello Martha B, thanks for the words that give us confidence everyday. Others will see this and be driven to us, we will not let you down.
Respectfully yours and Happy Dining
Rich & Terri LoRusso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 247 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have read good things about LoRusso's and were in the area and it was dinner time so we decided to try LoRusso's. Everything started out ok, but oddly when we ordered the prefixe dinner from the back of the menu, the server lost interest. After taking our order, he never stopped at our table again except to drop off the bill, which we asked for. Our service was from the busser. Our server did inquire to see if everything was ok once as he passed our table but he never broke stride. Another oddity was that every glass of wine in the place came in probably 20 oz glasses leaving a little head room with a 5 oz pour, allowing one to enjoy the aroma of the wine. Our wines chosen from the wine list, not house wines if that would make a difference, came in 6 oz glasses. ???? The food itself was great. the We both had caesar salads and the greens were very fresh. I had the osso bucco, which here is a pork shank instead of the usual veal. It was very tasty. My husband had the cannelloni and he enjoyed that. I am being generous in my stars because the food was good and our service seemed an isolated thing. The prefixe dinner is a nice value. The other servers seemed to be much more attentive so I guess it was just our server.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wekick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cucinaman, Owner at LoRusso's Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Wekick - we appreciate you taking the time to give us your thoughts on dinner. I cannot apologize enough for the way the service dimension of your experience developed. We take much pride in our customer service and this is totally inappropriate. In relation to the wine service - we use 11 oz glasses for most of our wines but offer larger glassware when bottles are purchased or our reserve wines by the glass are served. Your service encounter is by far an isolated occurrence. Thanks for your comments and hopefully others will review as well, to give us a better insight on the total experience at LoRusso's. This is very helpful.
Best Regards and Happy Dining
Rich & Terri LoRusso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We've been here about a half dozen times over the past 2 years, and Rich & crew never fail to exceed expectations. Impeccable service, a quaint, quiet, romantic atmosphere, and some of the most unique twists on traditional Hill fare round out an exceptional experience. My personal favorite meal was a chef's special one evening, it was a shrimp & crawfish pasta with a tomato cream sauce and a zip of Cajun flair...amazing!!!

Thank STL_Shuffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cucinaman, Owner at LoRusso's Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thanks for the considerate review. With all the social media out there Trip Advisor seems to be the place for genuine comments. This validates all the hard work the kitchen and dining room staffs put into our guests experience. Many travelers will read this and confidence will bring them in. We will do our part and back up your praise. Until next time, Happy Dining

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Perfect service, delicious food in a comfortable room with a friendly host-chef.
The mushroom trio was to die for and the ceasar actually had anchovies!

Thank dregnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cucinaman, Owner at LoRusso's Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thanks for the review, always great to hear the nice words, this really validates all the hard work we put into guests experience. Many travelers will read this and confidence will bring them in. We will do our part and back up your comments and praise. Until next time, Happy Dining

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Finally made it to LoRussos after hearing about it a lot on the radio. We were not disappointed at all with the food or service. The staff was very attentive although might have helped it was a slow wed night. Food was all very good... We ate the Ossu Boccu pasta dish with veal, calamari, wedge salad and dinner salad. Probably best wedge salad I've ever eaten and the pasta was very different than any I've ever had. Prices seem in line with what you get. We parked on the street and not positive but didn't see a parking lot but again it wasn't crowded so easy to find a spot. It was both of ours first time and we'd definitely recommend dining there.

1  Thank Banny9949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cucinaman, Owner at LoRusso's Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thanks for the glowing review, always great to hear these compliments considering all the hard work we put into guests experience. Many travelers will read this and confidence will bring them in. We will do our part and back up your words or praise. Happy Dining

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LoRusso's Cucina also viewed

 

Been to LoRusso's Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing