We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner before Symphony”
Review of Vito's Trattoria

Vito's Trattoria
Ranked #303 of 2,901 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Grand Center / Midtown
Cross street: Grand Blvd
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
419 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Dinner before Symphony”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were here early and the food and service were great. It quickly became full since it was a Friday night. But we were both happy with our food and service. I would go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    33
    23
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pleasant Atmosphere and Good Food”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

While visiting St. Louis we stopped here because of its location near the St. Louis University campus. It was a busy Saturday night but we got seated quickly and our waitress was very friendly and prompt in getting us water and a bottle of wine. We weren't overly hungry and were really just looking for pizza. We ordered 2 pizzas (veggie and create your own). They are 10 inch pizzas and either feed one very hungry person or 2 if you order a salad or something as well. Both pizzas were wonderful. While we did not order dessert, they did have a nice selection of gelatto. I would definately go back here again to try all the other Italian dishes!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timetorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love Vito's”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Love Vito's pizza. Closest to New York style pizza that I've found. Sicilian is my favorite. Warning: Service can be slow at times. If you're in a rush do the buffet or tell your server you're on the clock.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sappington, Missouri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have been wanting to try this restaurant for a while and when we got a Living Social coupon, that sent us on our way.
We went here after theatre but we'll be back with or without going to the theatre. It is convenient to the theatre district and you can park one time and walk to both the theatre and Vito's.
We couldn't have been treated better. First, we were greeted and seated by Vito. Then Lynsey took great care of us. She had the perfect blend of service - friendly but not overbearing, attentitive but not pushy, taking time for us but not lingering. Her recommendations were spot on and we enjoyed her sense of humor.
Although the pizza was recommended and we saw many other tables getting it, we opted for other pasta dishes and were well pleased. The olive oil and soy sauce to go with the bread was a nice touch.
Try it, you'll be pleased.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iamabum4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
124 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good family Italian in midtown”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Looking for a good bet for dinner before a show in Grand Center? If you like family-style Italian, Vito's is the place. They can accommodate large groups, the take reservations, the service is speedy and friendly and the food, while hardly gourmet, it tasty, well prepared, and very reasonable in price given the quality. I've been here often with my cabaret friends for dinner before a show at the Kranzberg (only two block away) and we've always been pleased. This past weekend my wife, a friend, and I had dinner here before a St. Louis Symphony concert and were very happy with the experience. Our dinner included drinks, an appetizer, dessert and entree for under $100 including a decent tip; not bad.

The menu is extensive (as is the wine list), with all the usual entrees, sandwiches, and salads along with a nice assortment of pizzas. The only real downside is that their lot on the west side of the building is small, so you might have to park at a meter. On the other hand, the meters in this area stop running at 7 PM, so you probably won't fork over that many quarters to park before a show.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thedogesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vito's Trattoria also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Vito's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing