We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zia's Restaurant

Zia's Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 2,881 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: The Hill
Description: Family owned St. Louis Italian restaurant on "The HIll"
Level Contributor
145 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Went here for lunch. Calamari was nice, toasted ravioli a bit dry inside, large Zias salad with grilled chicken was a great value for the price (large portion) and very good. Atmosphere is great, old school Italian restaurant, service speedy and professional. Would certainly go back next time I am in St. Louis.

Helpful?
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    185
    54
    27
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“F A N T A S T I C food! And service. And Atmosphere. A 10+.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went there for lunch Saturday 02/23/13 with my three sisters-in-law. All of them had been there before but it was my first time.

I got one of their specials, butternut squash ravioli with a salad. It might not sound great, but let me tell you it was a TEN! The salad and their house dressing was so good. They served it with warm, thick sliced sesame seeded crusty bread. On the table they have their own olive oil infused with yummy spices. I used that instead of the butter that came with it.

I know most Italian restaraunts sport a great salad, but theirs was a 10.

And then the entree arrived. The raviloi's themselves were delicious. The sauce was an olive-oil base with plenty of garlic (makes me REAL happy!), and there was seared ham, asparagus, pine nuts, and other stuff I can't remember. Plus it was a decent portion for my hearty appetite. It was just incredibally good, I can't speak enough about it.

I had water with my meal (my usual) and the cost with tip was under $15!! Unbelievable!! I will definately be back.

Forgot to mention our waiter was very on it with his service, well dressed and professional. And their restaruant has plenty of seating and yet a wonderful warm & cozy feel.

I'm wondering how I've never been there before. I urge you to go. If on a tight budget, go at lunchtime. This place is just fantastic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maplewood_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

World famous salad and pasta! This may be the best Italian place on the Hill. My favorite is the salad, its to die for! Just one time dining here and Im hooked. This is now on my favorites list and I am getting hungry writing this review!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank donthelegend8205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Had to find out for ourselves......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

After reading a review posted the same day, I had to know first hand if this place was as rude as I what I had read. It's not something I practice typically but my husband and I were driving in circles, looking at all of our choices and we decided, lets go for it.
I am glad we did! Food and wine was tasty and our service was right on.
We went after the Saturday lunch rush and before the dinner rush so we had very attentive service.
I would definitely go back to try to some of their other dishes. The stuffed tortellini will probably be my next choice.
I also want to point out that the garlic cheese bread is definitely full of garlic flavor for those who may not be real big fans. All in all, we had a good visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikkic23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
176 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Calamari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Service was very good. the food was very good. A wonderful place to enjoy the evening meal. The calamari was outstanding, almost more than the 2 of us could devour. The dinner was more than enough, brought the rest home for lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FWL5346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zia's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zia's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing