We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A City Institution”

Crown Candy Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 89 Dessert in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A City Institution”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

No trip to St. Louis is complete without a visit to Crown Candy Kitchen. The food is amazing and the ice cream concoctions fabulous! Seating is very limited so get there early. There is usually a long line waiting outside. After you eat, be sure to buy some homemade chocolate...yo won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank drpff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    233
    65
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As a St. Louisan, we have some really good options for ice cream and frozen custard. Crown Candy is at the top of that list also. The ice cream is all homemade with 14% butterfat. The chocolate sauce is also homemade. The sundaes and splits are all fantastic. You just always wish you had the other guy's ice cream because everything looks so great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Go for the milkshake”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very small, there was not enough seating. We bought a lot of candy, but it wasn't any better than anyplace else. Location is not in a good neighborhood.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dlake2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
150 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Legend!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Crown Candy Kitchen has the best hot fudge I have ever eaten, and I am a huge fan of the stuff! Their ice cream is legendary, and their menu includes old-school favorites like tuna salad on white toast with a side of potato chips. Arrive 30 minutes before the doors open or expect a long wait, but it is worth it!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank schonstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“yummy!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

It's small but a quaint piece of history. Food was good and the shakes even better! We had to wait a while to get seated but enjoyed our time while there - it' s definitely family friendly.

Helpful?
Thank AnnfromSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Candy Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Crown Candy Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing