We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now this is a patio...”

John D. McGurk's Irish Pub
Ranked #45 of 2,880 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Soulard
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Now this is a patio...”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

What a tranquil, inviting patio. it's big with flowers and fountains everywhere. Great atmosphere. Food was very good. Fish and chips were delicious, especially with the homemade tartar sauce. My wife's burger was cooked perfectly. Another place we'll definitely return to.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    86
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
378 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“McGurk's has wonderful patio, good food and great music acts”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

For fair weather diners, McGurk's has absolutely one of the best patios in Soulard. All the food is good, at least a notch above most pub fare. And their music acts, many from Ireland, are exceptional.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wedding rehearsal dinner”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

John D. McGurk's was the perfect spot for our recent wedding rehearsal dinner. The Patriot room was the perfect size for our group of 45, and had a welcoming, traditional Irish pub atmosphere. The service was perfect, and the buffet dinner was positively delicious. The roasted pork loin was a standout. Afterwards, the Irish traditional music band kept the party going with great musicianship and spirit. We had to dance! Mc Gurk's had the authentic Irish pub feel that we were hoping for to get our wedding weekend started. (An added bonus: Our guests had the option of walking outside to the large patio for fresh air and more festive atmosphere if they chose). It was a perfect evening!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancinggirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Every night is a great night for music!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great music is always available at this bar. Really nice outdoor area but I haven't tried the food but right next door is Tuckers for great steak at good prices.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank reitj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love the food!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We've been here twice on trips to St. Louis: both this summer and last. In fact we celebrated my brother's birthday last July at McGurk's. The food was great both times and the beer is fantastic. I love the old St. Louis feel of the place too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John D. McGurk's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to John D. McGurk's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing