We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this Irish Pub!”

John D. McGurk's Irish Pub
Ranked #38 of 2,890 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Soulard
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love this Irish Pub!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

In June I planned a surprise birthday party for my 75 year old father. Natalie was very helpful in the planning piece and Jessica( I hope I have her name right) was a fabulous waitress for all 28 of us!!

She was just wonderful! They accommodated our party inside by the bar in the 2nd landing area. It was as if we had the room to ourselves. The food was fantastic and so were the drinks. I love that you cam feel like you are in Ireland while dining here. True Irish music and decor!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islanddreamer1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    88
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great meal”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The service was impeccable with a great dining atmosphere around us as we were dining. The food was amazing. We ordered artichoke and spinach ravioli as an appetizer (highly recommend it). Our main dishes were served in a timely manner and tasted great. Will be returning on a cooler day for dinner on the deck.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Claire, Iowa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Dinner!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We went to John D. McGurk's Irish Pub on July 5, 2013 and thought it was great. We sat on the patio and the atmosphere was brisk yet we could visit without yelling. The food was delicious and the service was great also. I would definitely recommend McGurk's for the atmosphere, service and food! Great place and we will return!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were in town visiting friends and visited this place based on an online recommendation. Great atmosphere - lush interior decorations, fun and colorful artwork, great woodwork, etc. The staff was very welcoming and attentive. The food was good - I had the fish and chips. It wasn't the best I've ever had, but it filled the bill. Decent selection of drinks etc. The best part of the experience was definitely the beer garden. The landscaping was great - range of seating areas, fountains, lush plants and flowers, etc. There were a couple of different bar areas outside - at least - so I imagine at night the place could easily be very crowded and popular. What an excellent area to possibly hold a reception for an event. Would love to come back and enjoy the garden area further.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
124 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome place inside and out”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We ate outside at this great Pub. Fans kept us cool. Tons of room both inside and outside. They have an outside Bar! Ponds with fish and a vey nice setting.
The sandwiches for lunch are huge. Service was great. What a great place for anything you need.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunza37093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John D. McGurk's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to John D. McGurk's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing