We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Party time”

John D. McGurk's Irish Pub
Ranked #38 of 2,890 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Soulard
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Party time”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Fun place for a party, especially the outside area in the back when the weather is nice. Irish music featured most nights. It can kind of get loud.

Helpful?
1 Thank eyerish55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    88
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall with Irish Flavor”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Wanted to take the kids someone different for lunch and on a recommendation chose to travel to John D. McGurk's Irish Pub after finishing our tour of the Budweiser Factory -- we drove, though its barely 4 blocks away so easily walkable, especially during the day...

Menu is pretty generic, at least on the surface -- asked the waiter for the best dish/recommendation and he suggested anything with sauerkraut on it -- so I chose the Rueben, since it can easily be a judge of quality :)

The Rueben was fantastic -- you could tell the sauerkraut was made in-house and not from a can, the sauce/seasoning complimented the chunked corned beef really well -- great sandwich, highly recommend

Atmosphere is what this place has going for it -- Irish coupled with the dive style establishment makes for a nice place to just eat and enjoy your time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFootballDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome Pub in St. Louis”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Was visiting St. Louis over the weekend and came about this place thanks to the recommendation of a local. This place was awesome and deserves a re-visit whenever I come back to STL.

The atmosphere inside, from the layout and the decor, really helps make this place standout. My friend and I enjoyed our meal. Price was fair and portion was decent.

Our waitress came across as if she was annoyed or bothered, but her service overall was fine.

Parked on a private street about a block away. Dined in at around 5'ish on Friday with no wait.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mhawrysko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Rueben sandwich in the world.”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place is great. Like I said, the best rueben I have ever had. Locally made fresh rye bread, homemade thousand island with some kick to it, and think, juicy homemade corned beef. It was amazing.

My only wish is that they had a more nerdy beer list. They had some ok pub beers, but nothing out of the ordinary. Guinness, obviously, but no other good stouts.

We also had some Guinness stew that was amazing. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brik_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Pub”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If there is a better Irish pub I have never seen it. Great bar(s), awesome food, and fantastic ambience. Will go there every time I get close to St. Louis!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John D. McGurk's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to John D. McGurk's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing