We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable in South City”

Russell's On Macklind
Ranked #62 of 2,888 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
178 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Enjoyable in South City”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This place is a great neighborhood locale with a small but easy to choose from menu. We went here for breakfast yesterday; easy parking on the street and good choices on the menu. You order at the counter and they bring you your food so not a "true" restaurant but we really liked the area and really like to support small businesses. Highly recommentd

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    29
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
848 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I stopped in after noticing how crowded this place was on a Saturday afternoon. It's a fairly large menu, with many types of offerings. My wife ordered the cuban and I had the chicken salad. Both were good, with generous helpings. What topped it off, was the cheesecake. My wife has had a craving for good cheesecake here in St. Louis and this is the place. We had a chocolate chip cheesecake, covered with chocolate on the top. It was moist and gooey, with a cake like center, and was wonderful. We ordered it to go, but it never made it outside the cafe once we started. The wonderful atmosphere and cheerful staff topped off the experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rduinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Gooey Butter Cake in St. Louis!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place has a small menu, everything is made from scratch with the best ingredients. Everything we have ever tried is simply the best we've ever had. Their baked goods are to die for.
Awesome for breakfast and coffee. I recommend the bear claws, and have never found a better gooey butter! Winter evenings are the best with the candle light and fire, and the large patio is great in warm weather. The owner and workers are friendly people, who are really good people.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood rendesvouz”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place has such a great neighborhood vibe. Whether you need to pick up a cup of coffee, some pastry for a breakfast treat, or meet someone for an impromptu meeting, Russell's is the perfect place. With a nice cozy fire, in the winter you might have a hard reason to leave. I love the lunch deal where you can order two half sandwich for the price of one whole sandwich.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,IL
Level Contributor
639 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Old time atmosphere with great food”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

First time visitor who enjoyed the cafe and the food. Had a tuna sandwich with a great bisque tomatoe soup and topped it off with a slice of gooey butter pumpkin. Our guest enjoyed their sandwiches so we all went home happy with some fine cookies.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rollinsthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell's On Macklind also viewed

 

Been to Russell's On Macklind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing