We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downtown Wine”

Robust Wine Shoppe Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Robust Wine Shoppe Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 2,880 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
221 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Downtown Wine”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice location and a great atmosphere. We enjoyed the bar before sitting down to eat. We had great service and there's something for everyone on the menu. It was all prepared well. You can eat as little or as much as you want based on the plates available. Don't miss this one if you are downtown.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    51
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
431 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Extensive wine list, especially for this small of a restaurant. I like the heavier reds, and the bartender helped me find a fantastic new (to me) wine - Tenuta Monteti, Caburnio (I forgot the year). Anyway, of the five nights I stayed in St. Louis, I stopped in there at least 3-4 times for drinks and appetizers (I was entertaining customers all week) and had a great time every visit.

Pro's - All the bartenders were outstanding, they went out of their way to be helpful and nice. As I mentioned, they have a great wine list. Location is very convenient to downtown.

Con's - Only one small one that I probably shouldn't even mention - It seems like they close too early - midnight or so. Were my customers keeping me out too late, or am I a lush? Don't know!

Overall - I didn't have any entree's but they all looked great. Otherwise, I highly recommend for drinks, wine, and appetizers. You will not be disappointed here, especially sitting at the bar!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My mom and I happened upon this place while searching for somewhere to eat dinner on our recent trip to St. Louis. We aren't into wine, but the food was great and so was the atmosphere. We shared a couple appetizers and loved them.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTravelNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great new spot downtown”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I ate here on a Sunday night in town for business. I sat at the bar and ordered a glass of wine. Fabulous selection...hard to choose. They have small plates, larger plates and spreads/flatbreads to share. Also a large choice of cheese and meats. I opted to try the scallop small plate. Survey with puréed cauliflower and roasted Brussel sprouts, it was vert tasty, but not enough for a meal. So I ordered the hangar steak. It came with au gratin potato's and a frisée salad. This portion was way more than enough food and I could only eat about a fourth. The potato's were awesome and the frisée vert good. Steak was steak.
Overall I enjoyed it and would go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty fusion tapas and wine flights”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent selection of wine flights, all are generous servings and a great value. Food quality was outstanding. Be aware that food portions are smaller (i.e. tapas) and as such a little pricey. Good atmosphere inside and on Washington Ave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robust Wine Shoppe Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Robust Wine Shoppe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing