We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sauce on the Side - CLOSED

Sauce on the Side
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ely, Iowa
1 review
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stopped in during our family vacation due to the reviews it had received online. Very impressed with the calzones! The place had a nice variety of unique combinations to choose from. Pricing was great and the calzones were so big our two kids shared one. We will stop by again next time we are in town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eldy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    39
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Calzones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Went there a few times while I was in STL and there was always a line. The calzones were huge and more than enough. Great flavor as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jokerz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average calzone spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Not horrible but not great. Reasonably priced and friendly staff. A little heavy on the cheese but may have been the particular calzone I ordered. Atmosphere average.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank D V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
231 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Blew me away!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Tasty. Flavorful. Fresh!

Turned to TripAdvisor and found this gem (37 of 2500) while attending a convention.

Warning: this is not fast food. Expect to wait but the payoff is delicious.

Enjoyed Puttanesca | $9.00 |
Roasted Pulled Chicken, Onions, Capers, Green Olives, Minced Garlic, Roasted Red Peppers, Feta Mozzarella, Ricotta

It burst with flavor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mpfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara County CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Huge calzone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Very good restaurant. Got takeout, but place looked friendly inside. Portion was huge and was very good quality

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank archstenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sauce on the Side also viewed

Des Peres, Saint Louis
Maplewood, Saint Louis
 
Ladue, Saint Louis
Overland, Saint Louis
 
Maplewood, Saint Louis
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing