We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst I've ever seen”
Review of World Aquarium

World Aquarium
Ranked #96 of 263 things to do in Saint Louis
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Worst I've ever seen”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Poorly designed, poorly maintained, poor animals!!! The otters really made me sad because when we came up to the glass they were scrambling toward us and then at the door that leads to the feeding area. Ok, I don't know their feeding schedule but it just seemed like they hadn't eaten in a very long time. Not to mention that their habitat was dark, dirty, and leaking. The sloth (the animal which my husband and I adore) looked so depressed, which is tough for a sloth as they always look like they're smiling. All the fish were barely visible as their tanks were very cloudy and dirty. Some of the exhibits looked like belong in a cheap state fair side show or ripley's believe it or not. Please don't give them money, because they clearly don't use it to help the animals. :(

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Esayed84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    6
    6
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
House Springs, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“TAKE THE DISCOVERY TOUR”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have taken the Discovery Tour twice. We had so much fun the first time, we took another couple when we went back. We are all over 55 and had a fantastic time! So many "new" experiences. When you put your fingers in the tank that the little "doctor" fish are in, they swarm your fingers and nibble off the dead skin. It tickles! Turtles are my favorite animal in the world. I got to hand feed the large tortoise and a sea turtle. Have you ever fed a green bean to a sloth? Well you will on this tour! And give a fish to an otter, and pet an anteater while it has dinner, touch a shark & a stingray, and let a snake crawl around your arm. Many of the "residents" are rescues. They have a good home, and help teach us about the world around us. Do not go expecting "Shedd's Aquarium". Think small and go with the wonderment of your inner child, and you will have a fun 2 hours spent at World Aquarium!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Behind The Scenes Tour”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We took the "DATA" behind the scenes tour. Absolutely loved it! We live in the metro STL area and had never been to the World Aquarium or the City Museum. Saw a Groupon for the World Aquarium behind the scenes tour and thought...why not give it a try! Was a little leery after reading some of the reviews, but I have to say, not everyone thinks alike. Now...you must know going into the Aquarium, the majority of the wildlife you will see are rescues. Knowing that now, I dont have an issue with any admission fee. Which is what makes this place what it is! If your looking for something similar to the Shedd Aquarium or the Chattanooga Aquarium....revise your expectations. This place is a really neat little place and very educational! The tour itself is really fun and you get a hands on opportunity with many different animals and aquatic life. The tour lasts about 2 hours. Every bit of it was fun!! Staff personal were educational, courteous and polite, and made the experience memorable! We got to have the dead skin eaten off our hands by fish (super cool!!), feed fish, turtles, stingrays, armadillos, otters, a sloth, held snakes (eeewww!) and a lizard, and felt a lobster sing (weirdest thing ever)! You do not get to do these things on a normal admission...only the tours. For a normal visit, you have to pay admission for the City Museum first. The behind the scenes tour does not get you into the City Museum. If you have children, plan on paying, and staying for the City Museum...or you will never hear the end of it. Worth the price, plus it benefits the care of the animals! We will be back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Interactive and Unique”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Located within the monstrous City Museum is the unique and spectacular World Aquarium. Here you are invited to explore the wonders of the deep sea, seeing everything from sharks to sea turtles. And in keeping the tradition of the famed City Museumtunnels, you may crawl up or slide through an enclosed tunnel that goes straight through the large central aquarium, where you can swim with its inhabitants... all without getting wet!
And this is definitely one of the most interactive aquariums in existence, where petting and touching is encouraged in the marked areas. You can even touch a shark or stingray, or receive a manicure from tiny little fish that seem to make it their mission to provide soft hands to all who enter.
But the fun doesn't stop with fins and gills, because the World Aquarium offers a diverse array of other animals, including reptiles, birds, and plenty of interesting mammals that you just don't see at the petting zoo.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheesy at first glance, but AWESOME guided tour!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Whenever we arrived at the World Aquarium, we looked in and thought CHEESY! Their website was a bit misleading with the pictures, and this made for a bit of upset because we had already paid for a 2 hour private tour which was expensive! We ask the staff at the front desk about the tour,and she said that we would have a great tour and the guide was really good. We were skeptical, but had already paid for this tour, so we tried to have positive thinking. Our tour guide came out and met our group, and WOW! Was the staff at the front desk correct whenever she said we would have a great tour guide!!! This was an AWESOME EXPERIENCE FOR OUR ENTIRE GROUP! We learned so much about all different types of animals and sealife, and we were able to feed a Sloth, Sea Otters(ADORABLE!!!), Stingrays...We got to hold some snakes, and a ferret. For a small,(seemingly "cheesy" place, we were AMAZED at the experience we had here!!! I would definitely recommend this on your trip to St. Louis(but get the 2 hour guided tour because just wondering through this place you will probably be disappointed.)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiddensassymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Aquarium also viewed

 
Town and Country, Saint Louis
 

Been to World Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing