We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lone Elk Park”
Review of Lone Elk Park

Lone Elk Park
Ranked #16 of 254 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lone Elk Park”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We go here all the time. It is a drive through park, Sometimes you see no animals but you can get out and walk to the dock and see the fish and turtles. Other times the elk are on the road right next to your car. There are buffalo also. We take our grandkids there often.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reeny104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    117
    23
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
509 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Beautiful and 'free'”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Beautiful drive through where we saw several bison and elk. All the bison were congregated in one area, but still neat to see them. Elk were in the road, so the kids thought that was great. We got out at the picnic tables, and had two large elk 50 yards from us. Really neat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WarEglTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
114 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Average park in west county”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The park is one where you drive through in your car while admiring the wildlife. Couple of places to stop along the way. No Dogs allowed in your car if you plan on driving through, just a heads up.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JN101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Fall Drive”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We go with our kids once a year, when the autumn leaves are in peak color. At the front of the park, you can picnic and climb the hills for a good view, and the kids can enjoy exploring, and feel like hikers. Once you pass the gates to go through the park, you are in bison and elk territory, and required to stay in your car. The bison and elk are often very close to the road, and you can appreciate their size next to your car window. Come on a sunny day if possible for maximum beauty with the fall trees! Older kids? Bringing Subway food along always entices them :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otwell, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant drive through, great to get away from intestate for a bit.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I'm glad we took the time to take drive through on our way to Branson to break up the monotony of the 7 hr drive. We stopped in at the Bird sanctuary to stretch our legs and use the facilities - very clean by the way. Then enjoyed and leisurely drive through the park where a couple of Elk were grazing next to the road, a small herd of buffalo also very close hanging out next to the road. We also seen a few dear, a small buck casually strolled across the road as we had stopped to watch him for a minute. I'd definitely recommend, especially if you have kids. The park is free but there are donation boxes placed to give your support,

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Elk Park also viewed

 

Been to Lone Elk Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing