We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel! Great Location! Great Price! Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Ranked #11 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Hotel! Great Location! Great Price! Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

My husband & I stayed here with just 1 day in St. Louis. It was the perfect choice! We were able to easily walk to the Arch and surrounding areas. Parking was easy and affordable. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was clean, very comfortable and well-appointed. And the breakfast buffet was amazing! I recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel is first class at a bargain price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTExcellentAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    442
    137
    27
    11
See reviews for
540
413
59
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

Clean, good and (for St. Louis) safe location. About 30 steps from the underground walkway to the big casino. Good attached Irish pub and restaurant, stays open pretty late (2am or so). Some things important for St. Louis: secure indoor parking, steps from casino, secure entrance and elevators. I happened to get a room facing the highway and stadium, and right next to the ice maker. Ice maker made a loud rumbling noise every hour or so, dumping fresh ice into the reservoir. Large trucks on highway could be loud, but not as loud as ice maker. Excellent free breakfast spread, they do a good job. Staff are fantastic. Left on a Sunday when there was a football game, so it was a nice view of the events and tailgators. Be warned, however, that if you don't check out before 2pm on a game day, you will be charged $25 in addition to your existing parking fees.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CogPros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

We stayed here on a cross country road trip for Thanksgiving. As St. Louis had just been named the most dangerous city in America, I was a little apprehensive about staying downtown! I needn't have been. The hotel staff was absolutely wonderful. They gave us a room on the top floor with a wonderful view of the Arch. The pool area is great, again with a fabulous view. The breakfast area was large and very attractive and the breakfast itself was very generous and varied. The staff we interacted with at breakfast were truly amazing. Everyone was extremely friendly and solicitous. One of the young women working brought our children balloons attached to rubber duckies and changed the channel on one of the t.v.s to a cartoon, after asking us if it was ok. It's these little things that make a big impression. We were using HHonors points and as such, our parking was free. The garage is secure, as are the elevators leading to the upper floors. The rooms themselves are a little tired, but the gorgeous view went a long way to mitigating this. The beds and bedding were very comfortable. Can't say enough about the wonderful staff. They seemed to love what they do. Highly recommended. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Port, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed here for state football on Thanksgiving night. What a great place to stay! The rooms were very clean & the staff very friendly! The beds were extremely comfortable & we had a great view from our room! Would definitely stay here again!! There's a wonderful Irish Pub off of the lobby as well!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

Walking distance to the Arch and Lacledes Landing (bars and restaurants). Irish bar downstairs had a great atmosphere, but rooms were quiet and comfortable. Staff were friendly. Great hot breakfast included in the price. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTravelBug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

Prior to arriving we called the front desk with questions about parking and check-in. The person who answered the phone was very nice and well informed, she even knew the exact clearance height for the parking garage. She was so nice that I made a point of telling my wife her after we hung up. Upon arrival things were no different. EVERYONE that works at this hotel was genuinely friendly and very helpful. In all of my travels I have never seen such a friendly staff, that includes 5 star resorts and cruises costing substantially more. The hotel is also very well maintained. We had a King bed room which was pleasantly roomy and very nice as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying downtown St. Louis.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Remarc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake of the Ozarks, MO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husband and I spent one night at the Hampton traveling through St. Louis on our 10th anniversary. We chose this hotel because of it's location and rate, as well as the many great reviews on this site. We were not disappointed. I booked the room the day before our stay online. I put a note in the comment section that it was our anniversary and I would like a high floor with a view of the arch. Believe it or not they actually read these requests! When we checked in the very nice woman at the desk wished us a happy anniversary and said that she had the "best room in the house" for us. We were on the 17th floor (top floor) in room 1714 which is in the corner closest to the arch/river front. It was a beautiful room with a gorgeous view!

The hotel is in a great location. Just a few blocks to the arch and about one block to Laclede's Landing which has many bars and restaurants. We also really enjoyed the Irish Pub in the lobby. The staff were great and we actually enjoyed our first Guinness and stopped back in for a nightcap before heading to bed. (Try the Irish Coffee!)

The free breakfast was as expected...a continental breakfast with the addition of Belgian waffles and scrambled eggs/sausage. We didn't use the pool, but did stop in to look at it. Looked very clean and well cared for.

My only complaint about the hotel is the parking fee. There is parking in a secure parking garage on site for $12/day. We checked in at around 4:00 pm and checked out at 9:00 am and was charged $24 for two days of parking. In reality, there is no where else we could have parked, but I thought that $24 was a bit high for less than 24 hours.

I would recommend this hotel and we will stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happydaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Property: Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Address: 333 Washington Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63102-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern, award winning Hampton Inn hotel is located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, just one block from The Dome at America's Center (formerly Edward Jones Dome), one block from Laclede's Landing and three blocks from the historical Mississippi Riverfront. Our guests can enjoy a wide variety of restaurants, nightclubs, and historical sites all within walking distance. The famous St. Louis Gateway Arch and the new downtown casino are just steps away! Access to all major interstates is just blocks from our entrance. Busch Stadium, Home of the St. Louis Cardinals and Ball Park Village are only a short walk, or a quick trip on the Metro Link. The Metro link, St. Louis' light rail transit system is only 2 blocks away, allowing our guests a short ride to and from the airport, as well as all key destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown At The Gateway Arch Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing